Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Really yummy. I added a pound of chicken sausage. First crumbled and cooked the sausage, then added the butter (instead of oil) until melted. Make sure you cook the flour mixture after you add it. Just let it bubble and brown for a few minutes so you avoid the flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was my first attempt at country gravy. This recipe was so easy to follow. The gravy was smooth and creamy. I did add a little ground sausage, per my husbands request, it was really good. We both thought it needed a little more seasoning, but that is just personal preference. Will make this again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The country gravy was simple to make. Instead of seasoning the gravy with salt and pepper, I used garlic salt, Accent and pepper for more added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I make half the recipe. The first time I made it it had a floury taste to it. Not good. The second time, I added the flour until the oil was very hot, just as others mentioned and it came out incredible! It cooks very quickly so if I leave it for too long it has a burnt taste to it. Overall it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizet1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
it a horrible bland flavor! Sorry, didn't dig the oil at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
this is a great recipe.. ive have been trying to make gravy now for bout 4 days (and just thought bout looking for a recipe online) but, i made it just like it said too and it was great tasting.... but the greesy grime left in my mouth after eatting it is not what i enjoyed... maybe next time ill cut back on the oil but, everyone went for 2nds.. i will DEFF. make this again.. the kids love it.. and also i like my gravy alil brown so i cooked the oil, and flour until it was really brown and then i added the 4 cups of milk it was a little thick so maybe next time ill try 4 1/4 cups milk.. but the kids and i really enjoyed the darker gravy.. so just cook it longer if thats what u want to try..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was great! Although i substituted the oil for butter and added chicken boullion....it was delicious over fried chicken and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was the first time I had ever made gravy for breakfast. My entire family loved it including myself. it was very easy to prepare and it turned out perfect with no lumps. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
For 15 yrs I have made homemade gravy for biscuits ... well I was out of 2 ing. the other night when we had ppl over so I looked on here found this one and tried it .... WELL my husband says I am never to make any other recipe but this one for now on .... it was so creamy and so good the only thing I did different was add crushed red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina1970us

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe but I halved it. I had no plain oil so I used half butter and half olive oil. But followed the instructions, and it came out great! We even mistakenly bought fat free milk, but it still thickened properly. I will be usin this again and again. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States