Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My mother made It exactly like this all the years I was growing up and still does. Sometimes she would use bacon grease; never sausage drippings. That would completely change the flavor of it. No butter. This is what country gravy should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I can never make gravy right... in an effort to show my boyfriend "I can make bisquits & gravy" I tried this and my bisquits were terrible (not flaky or fluffy) and this gravy saved them. He loved it! I was impressed at myself (of course I added sausage crumbled too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good when u don't have country gravy mix on hand. One would normally have the ingredients for this recipe on hand. It's even better when made in the pan with sausage drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I used half canola oil and half butter for the fat content and everything else the same. It was delicious and reminded me of the local breakfast diner. Definitely a keeper for use in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That One Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
oil is healthier, butter tastes better! Pick your priority. I find a happy medium is I can'd believe its not butter. I added some dried chipped beef for a breakfast meal. I like mine with a bit more zip though/plain white gravy is a tad boring so I put in a few red pepper flakes in mine. Since I use chipped dried beef in mine which is pretty high in sodium already I cut the salt in half. My real change was to use less flour...it was bit too thick for me as written. I used 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Good start for a Basic recipe. I did make it up as per recipe for the first time. Like other reviews it taste better with melted butter instead oil. It is a little too thick for my taste, I use 1/2 cup instead of 3/4 cup of flour to the 4 cups of milk. I also add pinch more pepper and salt. To make it easier... when adding the milk use a whisk instead of just stiring in the milk. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I tryed this recipe and my husband and I didnt like it. I guess we are not use to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this recipe for country fried steaks tonight and it was perfect! The only thing I changed is I used butter. I will be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was REALLY good. Great consistency for gravy; if you follow the directions precisely, it's not too thick or not too runny. I did substitute 1/2 stick of unsalted butter for the oil. Some sausage or bacon drippings would add some extra flavor, but it was delicious without them. Consider yourself warned, though.....this makes a large amount of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
It is a good recipe but I think it is missing something but I am not sure what. (Keep in mind I do not eat meat so it may be perfect for you and the meal you have planned.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States