Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
If you ever have it with fried green tomatoes you will think you did and went to the heaven cafeteria... I have it with bacon and put a bit of bacon grease in for the flavor with the tomatoes. OK it isn't great for you, but if you have it only once in a while, my diabetic doctor says it is fine... You only live once..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easiest way to make is in a wok. Cook your Jimmy Dean sausage and leave the drippings in the pan. Use butter and the flour with no extra salt. Add the milk after your flour is browned and then put on your Grands biscuits. Bring to a boil and then back it down some letting the water evaporate and put the sausage in the gravy while stirring constantly. Pour this sausage gravy over grands biscuits and you are in heaven....and will be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The olive oil is healthier, but doesn't taste "right". To make this true "country" gravy, you have to use bacon grease or the drippings from fried sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is basic white sauce, except for using oil in the roux which is okay for dishes like stews, Jambalaya.etc. where they use a 'penny' colored roux. Butter is the norm for white sauce. However, making a southern style gravy I'd use the fat from bacon or sausage for that special flavor and ad some crumbled sausage or bacon with it. Now for the 'starchy' taste, that comes from not cooking the roux long enough to remove the starch flavor which takes about 8-10 minutes and a lower temp if you're wanting a blond roux, which is indicated by using milk. At least half chicken stock and milk will move the gravy away from being bland.Oil is neutral as far as flavor is concerned. Just take a little time and get the starch taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I use this recipe for biscuits and gravy, but add 2 tbsp. of butter to the sausage grease and use cornstarch instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A good starting point. For breakfast gravy, I always use bacon or sausage grease. Not the same without it. And if serving with pork, I add the pork drippings - and if serving with chicken, I add either chicken bouillon or chicken broth (in place of some of the milk). I felt this recipe, as it stood, was a little too bland. Cooking is all about flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I thought this was a great gravy. I make a lot of gravy in lots of different ways so this is a nice addition. So many negative reviews about how they made it different. Well, why did you look at the recipe then? Obviously, you are an expert! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I give this 5 stars. It is much like a gravy I make to use over mashed potatoes. I, too, use saved bacon grease (I freeze it every time I do bacon). It is just SO much better this way. When I use the bacon grease, I don't add butter. I also will fry up 1/2# of country sausage, add some of the grease (if there is any, we buy REALLY lean sausage) and then add it to the gravy. This is just great over biscuits. Tonite for the first time I made elk country steaks and gravy w/the drippings from the steaks. Turned out GREAT!! The only spices I add are salt & pepper. This is a wonderful all around gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBTLady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It is easy tasty gravy but substitute oil with butter and and a dash of nutmeg for superior taste. I give it 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is close to the same gravy my mother taught me to make when I was a young girl. We used this gravy over chicken fried steak and over mashed potatoes as well as a breakfast gravy. Add your seasonings to the flour before you cook it, and it is very important to make sure the flour is cooked... it won't be brown, but allow it to cook slowly so as not to burn it. You can't rush good gravy!! You MUST add the water only a little at a time... the pan will be hot and you may get burned by spatters if you don't. Instead of water, you could also use chicken broth or beef broth to add flavor. Then add as much milk to make it creamy and the consistency you want, warm through, and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States