Mom's Country Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Tastey? It' milk flour and oil. Where's the taste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is how I was taught as a young girl in the South, also. Butter, or bacon or sausage dripping are a must. If you are counting fat grams or calories...skip the gravy. The flour taste you must cook the grease flour mixture for a few minutes to reduce that flavor. I, too prefer meat grease over the butter and never use other oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This looked like country gravy, but tasted nothing like it. In fact, didn't taste like anything, even after more salt and pepper. There's so much you can salt and pepper it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I honestly don't think this has a good flavor to it at all, I agree maybe with bacon grease would be better, but the flavor is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Ok so I tried this recipe because I was looking for a new recipe to try to surprise my husband after work with a new supper & it failed miserably. No amount of stirring made this thicken even the slightest bit & I even tried adding more flour. Not a very happy camper at the moment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Duggan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was a good start for our sausage gravy. We simply browned the sausage with a chopped onion, added 1/2 a cup of flour(because others said it was a bit thick so we reduced it)to the sausage, onion and sausage oil (we omitted vegetable oil and left the oil from the sausage in the pan) when it was cooked. When the flour was mixed in we added the salt, pepper and milk and cooked until thickened. Very tasty :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The only change I made (because of other comments) was to use butter instead of oil for the roux. It was edible, but I would not say it was enjoyable to eat. I agree with some others that the flour taste was too strong (yes, I cooked the butter and flour 'til it browned). Also, the amount of pepper didn't seem anywhere near enough. I was taught with other gravies to use equal parts oil and flour, so I will try it again using 1/2 cup flour, and figure out how much pepper I think it should have. I will post my results soon! UPDATE: I reduced the flour to 1/2 cup and incresed the pepper to 1 1/2 tsp. which was enough to satisfy some. It was MUCH better. Some family members still added more pepper. TIP: If it gets too thick by the time you are ready to eat, whisk in some more milk to get the consistency you want. Taste again to see if you want more salt and/or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think it turned out well. I browned some frozen sausage in the skillet before starting the gravy to give it some extra flavor. To avoid that floury taste you have to remember to let the fat/flour mixture cook just a little before adding the milk. Salt and pepper to taste and ta-da!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontpanic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I'm always experimenting with gravy recipes because I love gravy on almost everything. This recipe was very good, fast and easy! I did use the broth from chicken noodle soup instead of oil, but I personally like the chicken taste to my gravy. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena Liegh Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Reliable and healthy twist on an old favorite. Despite what others say below, browning the roux (oil/flour) is very important for the flavor that this dish is meant to carry. The gravy is white, yes, but an off white is what the picture shows. More a tan gravy. It's classified as white because of the milk and flour and oil simplicity without any specific bullion or stock induced taste. It is a brilliant and simple subtlety. The flavoring of the whole thing is carefully lifted to a wondrous place when you take the complex sugars in the oil, fat, butter, whatever you use, and caramelize them against the flour. Like sautéd onions. Like aging wine. It is the key here, subtlety. The sole secret need not be bacon grease and other such blunt tools of good taste. There is nothing wrong with bacon grease. Some enjoy other things alongside it. There are many secret ingredients, big and small. I was delighted by this recipe and I want to cook many more things like it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States