Mom's Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It was great. I modified a few things. I replaced shortening with butter and sugar with stevia. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fell apart easily and enough that you could only pick up pieces - not a whole slice of corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and all you can taste is shortening. I really wish people would not rate recipes based on the changes they made, if you make this as written it is a one star recipe. I am sure, if you add tasty ingredients, like butter, sugar and more cornmeal, it will obviously taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Fantastic cornbread recipe! Made it today with a few tweeks to suit our taste and it came out beautifully! Thanks for this lovely recipe Norma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I was very happy with the way this recipe turned out! As per other reviewers suggestions I did add a lil extra sweetener in the form of about a tablespoon of honey. I also added some sliced black olives, chopped jalepenos and a handful of shredded cheddar. They were amazing! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Made this as written -- texture good, didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I liked the texture but I added some honey to the recipe as I felt it needed to be a little sweeter. I'll use it again. Very good either plainwith butter or real maple syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Tasted like old bacon grease. Texture was good...but taste was not forgivable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
this was very good, I did add some extra sugar and honey. I t was very moist. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My husband said this is the best corn bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States