Mom's Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is delicious! I do have a suggestion tho'. Mine came out very soupy because I don't think I used as much cabbage as I should have. I would suggest just putting a little dressing on at first and see if the texture is right for you. You can always add to it if neccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1014 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Used a bag prepared cabbage and carrots with the dressing part of the recipe cut in half (ie 1/2 cup mayo). It came out just right mix of dressing to cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
My husband has been making slaw for years and never measures. This recipe rivals his--it is the perfect balance of tangy & sweet. I used a 16 oz bag of pre-shredded slaw with carrots, and I halved the recipe, because we don't like our slaw dripping with sauce. Great recipe, straight into my keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is an awesome an super quick recipe. I am very picky about my slaw and prefer the slaw from Long John Silver's Restuarant. This slaw taste just like their slaw, sweet and tangy. I used pre-shredded cabbage and carrots, light mayo and splenda sugar. I also added a bit a black pepper because I like pepper in my slaw. It was perfect after just putting it together and I am sure it will be even better tomorrow. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Finally- a homemade coleslaw that my husband raved about!!! I followed the directions to the letter and we haven't had better in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is incredibly simple and flavorfull. I am making it again for Easter and it is best if made the night before which is always convenient
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Simply yummy, perfect measurements (though I totally cheated by using about 1/4 bag of cole slaw mix to the dressing so I didn't have to do all that chopping). I put this in a sandwich with sliced marinated grilled chicken on sourdough bread, my husband literally couldn't stop eating and loved the coleslaw all on its own as well. Definitely adding to the rotation, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a great homestyle coleslaw. Very creamy, mild flavor. This had a smooth mellow sweet taste. I only let it sit about thirty minutes before we ate it. I'll bet it'll be even better tomorrow. DH and I both liked this one. Great for picky eaters as there is no onion or green pepper. All I added was about 1/2 tsp kosher salt and 1/4 tsp ground black pepper. This was really fast and easy, a great recipe! Thanks Denise, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
An excellent creamy coleslaw recipe with zip. I used store-brand "miracle-whip" style dressing instead of mayo and it was excellent. Not the vinegary type of coleslaw. Also, I used the pre-shredded coleslaw mixture from the store rather than grating my own vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Goodhope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Sweet, tangy and super easy. It's just the right mix of ingredients so that it's not too vinegary or creamy. I added about a tsp of celery salt for a little kick and it turned out nicely. This will definitely be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States