Mom's Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Great, I usually mix 1/4 less of the wet ingredients than the recipe calls for, add a tiny bit of finely sliced onion, about 1/2 tsp lemon juice and a sprinkling of celery seeds. It is always better if it has been refrigerated a few hours before eating. It is best on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is exactly how I make coleslaw! One thing I would add is to put just enough of the dressing on the cabbage to coat it lightly, stir and allow it to sit for a bit before adding more dressing if needed just before serving. Nothing worse than watery coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
My daughter kept asking for coleslaw "like Grandma made" My Mom was no longer here. This recipe was what she was asking for. I use bag slaw futhur chop it in a food processor. I use splenda instead of sugar, It is a big hit! so sorry about the one star (that was accidental) I would have given it 10 stars hI had the option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I have been making this for years! I am always asked to bring it! But I only use 1/4 c. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I make a similar reciepe..try adding celery seed to your cole slaw adds a nice light crunch to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
So easy and so tasty!! I did follow other viewer's suggestion and cut back on the vinegar and the mayo because I like the dressing to be a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Super easy and super yummy!! I used a 1 pound bag of cabbage and followed the recipe except I did add a little celery salt as others recommended. It did turn out a little soupy. Next time I will use 1 1/2 pounds of cabbage and I think it will be PERFECT!! Quick, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is the first time in my life I have ever made coleslaw. My husband comes from a family of 10 kids. His opinion was "this tastes just like mom's coleslaw." Fitting for the name of this recipe. I cut the recipe in half as there are just the two of us. I asked him if it needed anything and he said maybe more people to eat it. Well, by the time we got done eating, he had finished the whole container!! This recipe is definitely a keeper and I will be making it a lot more. Very easy. Thanks Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome! I used red wine vinegar because that's what I had. I thought it was a bit too sweet so I added some more mayo to reduce the sweetness. Would definitely do less sugar next time. Also added the following spices - lemon pepper, dill, celery salt, black pepper. Had this in a sandwich with leftover corned beef and it was great. So easy too...will make this for my next barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Used one and a half 16 ounce bags (24 ounces total) prepared coleslaw mix. Added dashes of kosher salt, black pepper and celery salt. Made dressing as recipe reads. I can't stop eating it, hope I still have enough for dinner. Making with Slow Cooker Pulled Pork. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States