Mom's Classic Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
my original recipe stated to use sandwich spread, more like thousand island. I think you will find this makes it better than the Miracle Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Yes Robin, this is truly a man's man kind of sandwich! I too used Thousand Island dressing in lieu of the Miracle Whip and it added the tang that's typically associated with a reuben sandwich. Your mom did a great job and we thank her!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was fabulous! I used sourdough bread instead of rye and my husband said it was the best rueben he's ever had. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
this is truly the master reuben of all time. wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I used low fat Thousand Island dressing and sprinkled lemon pepper on the buttered outsides of the sandwich before grilling-- my husband LOVES this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was very good. I like it alot better than the traditional reuben and I really like Reubens ! I used pastrami in place of the corned beef because that is what I had on hand. Will absolutely make again. My kids even liked it and they are not big reuben lovers. Thanks Mom ! It was Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Good Reuben
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
My son-in-law made this and everyone seemed like it, but the sodium content was much too high for my reduced sodium blood pressure diet. What a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I didn't care for this at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States