Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made this for Christmas dinner. One bite and a guest said "Wow!". Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I loved this recipe. I have wanted to make a homemade chocolate pie for years but have never been successful with meringue. I took Katie's advise and followed the recipe as it is witten. I also made sure my pie crust was cooked ahead of time and cool. Then, before I made the filling, I made the meringue and set it aside....Everyone loved the pie, I was very proud of myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Oh Momma! My husband loves chocolate pie and always has his mother (who hates to make them) make him one for the holidays. I made this one for him after the Thanksgiving pie from his mother. He took one bite, picked up the phone, called his mother, and told her that she didn't have to make chocolate pies anymore. She was delighted and so was I. I used the Meringue II recipe instead of this meringue recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freakishej
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
OMG AMAZING! i used soymilk instead of milk, and it was sooo wonderful!!! i wasnt going to add more corn startch, and then i though maybe i should since soy milk is thiner then milk. then, i didnt have cream of tartar so i used 2 tbls lemon juice, unfortunatly when i was putting the meringue on top a dumped some on the floor lol! MOST delecious pie ever! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freakishej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! Really nice chocolate and the meringue was good too. Give it a try. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love to cook but don't do loads of baking. Usually, I cheat and use pudding mix and do the meringue the right way. I decided that was silly, so I found this recipe. I always read the comments; the advice about why sealing the pie is important was very helpful. This worked perfectly. I followed the ingredients to the letter, working with my 10-year-old (except timing -- I kind-of eyeballed that). The custard was so thick it was already setting as I was smoothing it out in the pie crust. The meringue (with only THREE egg whites!!!) is nearly 4 inches tall in the middle. I think this pie looks like something out of a magazine. WOW!!! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Good Chocolate meringue Pie recipe; after reading the reviews i added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch and sprinkled some cocoa on top..you could grate some chocolate also, but I was lazy and didn't want to go thru the trouble. Turned out good and tasted great. My picture turned out a little sloppy but it was taken a day after the pie was cut into. I kept the meringue @ 3 egg whites & 3 T of sugar. Worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Photo by ~~Jenn~~
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie set really well, but I changed just a couple of things. 1. I used 1 tbsp. of real butter to stir in just before pouring into crust to make it more silky. 2. I cooked the filling a little longer than 2 minutes, because it needed it. 3. I used 8 eggs whites for the meringue, because it needed more. Other than those minor things, it's perfect. First time I've EVER had a chocolate pie set well enough that it made clean slices and did not run into the pie plate. The flavor was really good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wonderful pie, my family raved about it. Only wish that there was more filling, may try a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Just made this yesterday and it came out beautifuly and so delicious! I did increase the cornstarch to 4 Tbs. and the egg yolks to 4. It set up just right and is so creamy, I'll definately use this as my Chocolate Meringue Pie recipe from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States