Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ive made this a few times The egg Meringue isnt quite enough so some adjustments had to be made but it was very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe...turned out great! Nice and thick and smooth consistency. I didnt add any extra cornstarch...I followed these directions exactly and it set up perfectly. The only real change I made was to cut the sugar in the meringue to 3 Tblsp and it was just fine. Also.... was in a bit of a rush so my crust was still warm from baking when I added the filling. I had no problems with it setting up. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thank you Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Based on earlier reviews I added additional cornstarch, making it almost fudgelike. I'll cut back next time. This pie is rich,dark and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I cook for a living and love it! I like to try new recipes as well! I made a double batch to fill to the top of the gram cracker shell. I followed this according to the recipe except i wanted to cook it for 1 1/2 min. longer. I like using a wire wisp and a temp. silicone spatula wonderful for not scorching in a non stick pot. I made a mistake in the recipe and didn't realize it until i was done as i filled my pie shell i notice it looked like a double dutch chocolate i look beside of my beautiful pie and saw that i used the egg whites and not the egg yolk i laughed. but so delicious. I didn't intend to use the whites for the meringue anyway. Its for a christening dinner Sunday and i was ask to make a chocolate pie. cool whip would be great for this pie. mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My husband said this is "the best chocolate pie I've ever eaten"! And I agree. Chocolate pies I've made in the past have kind of been 'pray that it turns out right', but the cooking directions for this recipe are foolproof. I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcnary09
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I love this pie recipe. A lot of chocolate pie recipes are kind of bitter and this one is sweet. My husband prefers the bitter so he didn't like it as much. I thought it was one of the best I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is really good and easy to make. Thanks Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I thought it would be harder than it was. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Soooooo, so perfect! I reduced the sugar in the meringue by a couple tablespoons also (personal taste) and upped the cornstarch in the pudding by one tablespoon per past experiences with runny puddings/custards for pies. PERFECT. FRIENDLY TIP: per Smitten Kitchen and Joy of Cooking I discovered what happened once to an otherwise delicious pie we had to spoon into bowls to serve: the cornstarch bond CAN be delicate (a cooking mystery involving humidity and magic). Don't stir or move the custard too much once it's good and thick and starting to set. Don't set it aside for a second and let it start to set in the pan and THEN move it to crust, don't whisk it too vigorously after it's starting to set, etc. I learned the hard way: it was beautiful and thick and then I whisked one more time and set it aside while I whipped the meringue, then scraped it out into the pan and it turned back to LIQUID. I was dumbfounded and searched until I found that this CAN happen and this was why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made this twice for the holiday season trying to duplicate a pie my dad loves. The first time I made it as the recipe states, but it came out too gummy, not creamy like I wanted. People liked it, but I knew it could be much better. Second time I added an extra egg yolk to the mix and used 3 TB of cornstarch w/ 2 TB of flour. After the mix came to a boil I added 2 TB of butter. I threw the extra egg white in with the meringue, but that was just not to waste because the meringue is fine in this recipe. With those changes it really makes this pie five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States