Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made this for Thanksgiving and WOW! I added one Tbls extra of cornstarch and one extra egg yolk like some reviews said and it came out perfect! Just have patience during the stirring step. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Bacon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Oh my gosh! I made this pie for the first time yesterday and had already mixed up the dry ingredients when I realized I didn't have any regular milk so I substituted canned milk instead. This pie tasted just like my dad's homemade hot chocolate, in which he also used canned milk, and brought back so many memories! I also added an extra egg yolk because I used a different meringue recipe that called for four egg whites and I didn't want to waste the yolk. In the end I forgot to add the vanilla but this pie was still every bit as delicious, decadent and just plain awesome. Looking forward to making another one soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I have been looking for a milk chocolate pie recipe and ran across this one. My grandmother use to make the best. My mother has been asking me to make a chocolate pie for a while. I tried this one today, I did make a minor adjustment. I used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch and I cooked it on top of the stove until thicken. The is a great recipe, you can't rush it. cook it with love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it turned out wonderfully. I did make a slight change but it didn't affect the outcome of the filling, I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa instead of regular cocoa. I made peanut butter ice cream to go with this and desert was wonderful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ive made this a few times The egg Meringue isnt quite enough so some adjustments had to be made but it was very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe...turned out great! Nice and thick and smooth consistency. I didnt add any extra cornstarch...I followed these directions exactly and it set up perfectly. The only real change I made was to cut the sugar in the meringue to 3 Tblsp and it was just fine. Also.... was in a bit of a rush so my crust was still warm from baking when I added the filling. I had no problems with it setting up. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thank you Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Based on earlier reviews I added additional cornstarch, making it almost fudgelike. I'll cut back next time. This pie is rich,dark and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I cook for a living and love it! I like to try new recipes as well! I made a double batch to fill to the top of the gram cracker shell. I followed this according to the recipe except i wanted to cook it for 1 1/2 min. longer. I like using a wire wisp and a temp. silicone spatula wonderful for not scorching in a non stick pot. I made a mistake in the recipe and didn't realize it until i was done as i filled my pie shell i notice it looked like a double dutch chocolate i look beside of my beautiful pie and saw that i used the egg whites and not the egg yolk i laughed. but so delicious. I didn't intend to use the whites for the meringue anyway. Its for a christening dinner Sunday and i was ask to make a chocolate pie. cool whip would be great for this pie. mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My husband said this is "the best chocolate pie I've ever eaten"! And I agree. Chocolate pies I've made in the past have kind of been 'pray that it turns out right', but the cooking directions for this recipe are foolproof. I definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcnary09
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I love this pie recipe. A lot of chocolate pie recipes are kind of bitter and this one is sweet. My husband prefers the bitter so he didn't like it as much. I thought it was one of the best I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States