Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe did not work for me. I worked so hard on trying to make this yummy pie in my new pie dish I got for Christmas. I did everything as said. The custard was very thick when I poured it in the baked pie crust ... After it came out of the oven it looked wonderful... The longer it cooled the more the meringue started to shrink on the top... I put it in the fridge to cool. Went to slice it after dinner and it was like water!!! It was chocolate soup with a crust!! My son and husband still slurped on it because it had good flavor but I was so incredibly disappointed .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susanRN
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very pretty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
My mother in law's mother used to make this pie for her but when she got Alzheimers she forgot how to make it. After reading all of the reviews I decided to give it a shot and my mother in law was so happy she nearly cried! It is the perfect chocolate meringue pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebullientme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made this for Thanksgiving and WOW! I added one Tbls extra of cornstarch and one extra egg yolk like some reviews said and it came out perfect! Just have patience during the stirring step. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Oh my gosh! I made this pie for the first time yesterday and had already mixed up the dry ingredients when I realized I didn't have any regular milk so I substituted canned milk instead. This pie tasted just like my dad's homemade hot chocolate, in which he also used canned milk, and brought back so many memories! I also added an extra egg yolk because I used a different meringue recipe that called for four egg whites and I didn't want to waste the yolk. In the end I forgot to add the vanilla but this pie was still every bit as delicious, decadent and just plain awesome. Looking forward to making another one soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I have been looking for a milk chocolate pie recipe and ran across this one. My grandmother use to make the best. My mother has been asking me to make a chocolate pie for a while. I tried this one today, I did make a minor adjustment. I used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch and I cooked it on top of the stove until thicken. The is a great recipe, you can't rush it. cook it with love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it turned out wonderfully. I did make a slight change but it didn't affect the outcome of the filling, I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa instead of regular cocoa. I made peanut butter ice cream to go with this and desert was wonderful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Ive made this a few times The egg Meringue isnt quite enough so some adjustments had to be made but it was very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe...turned out great! Nice and thick and smooth consistency. I didnt add any extra cornstarch...I followed these directions exactly and it set up perfectly. The only real change I made was to cut the sugar in the meringue to 3 Tblsp and it was just fine. Also.... was in a bit of a rush so my crust was still warm from baking when I added the filling. I had no problems with it setting up. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thank you Mary Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Based on earlier reviews I added additional cornstarch, making it almost fudgelike. I'll cut back next time. This pie is rich,dark and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States