Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I just made this pie.. My question is.. Do you let the custard stand in the pie for an hour or more to let it set? Or refrigerate it for an hour or so, to stiffen up? However, I like the taste of it and any other time I made it the meringues came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jalena Hood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Love this recipe! Some said this was soupy or needed more cornstarch. If you make this exactly as written, it should set up fine with 3 tbsp of cornstarch. Always remember, with cornstarch it won't thicken until it boils. Personal taste, it was a little too chocolat-y, but I think that was due to cocoa I used or over measured. Meringue was sweeter than I like, but again, that's just me. My BF loved this as is. Next time may double recipe as my pie plate is 9.5 inches. Thanks for sharing an easy and delicious recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great pie! The only thing I would do different is double the custard. Only filled my 9" crust lil over half full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made as written, delicious creamy chocolate pie! We loved it! This was a keeper! I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Very good but next time I'll cut the vanilla to 1/2 tsp. I also used four eggs. It makes the pie a bit richer and of course makes a higher meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I just added two tablespoons of margarine and it taste exactly like my mom's pie that I miss since she has been gone...I now have it down to the tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Richie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe was great! The meringue was great and the filling was perfect. Next time, I'll probably add another tablespoon of cornstarch to the filling. I appreciated the reviewer who mentioned making the meringue first and having it ready to add immediately after filling the crust. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this pie for my brother for this birthday. It was the prettiest pie I ever make and it tasted fantastic it reminded me of the m pie my aunt made. It was easy to make and I WILL make this again. Try it you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This turned out really well for me. I made it as written, no alterations are required! Smooth, creamy, old fashioned chocolate pie. The recipe is very similar to my grandmother's wartime chocolate pie. Ingredients weren't fancy, nor were they squandered. My pie filling was set 2 hours out of the oven, at room temperature. (Yes, I couldn't wait to test it! The rest was eaten chilled.) The crust was still warm when I poured in the filling, and I did not have runny filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Excellent! A big hit, everybody loved it. Has that wonderful old school cocoa flavor, great silky texture. I covered with plastic wrap laid right on hot filling then chilled a few hours. Served with fresh sweetened whipped cream instead of meringue. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States