Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I've tried many different recipes for chocolate cake, none come close to this one. Cake is moist, with great texture. I usually sprinkle powdered sugar over top in place of white mountain icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Nielsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Best chocolate cake recipe. Have been using this since my son's 10th birthday. He'll be turning 21next week and still want this cake. Can I use this with fondant icing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
The best chocolate cake recipe ever,I have never made any other chocolate cake since I made this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've made this twice already. I used this recipe for my four year old's birthday. I made cupcakes instead of a whole cake and they turned out great. While I mixed shortening, sugar, eggs, chocolate and vanilla, I mixed the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. I then added the dry alternately with the milk. (that's just the order I've always used to make cakes) and I added the hot coffee last. I took the tip from another reviewer and added a little salt after I tasted the batter. It made 42 cupcakes at 350 for 15 minutes. The cupcakes paired well with butter cream cream cheese frosting. I only needed 30 for the party but cupcakes freeze well so they will make a nice treat later without the waiting. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious, so moist and easy. This was my first "from scratch" cake. Followed the recipe exactly. My cake did do the "rectangle shaped" thing in the center that some others mentioned, but the center never dropped and it was easily covered with frosting, so it wasn't really a drawback, just kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
The best chocolate cupcakes I have ever made. I only made half a batch and came out with 12 cupcakes. Baked for 20 minutes. I only used 1/2 coffee and 1/4 milk. Oh and I used butter instead. I used meringue buttercream frosting from this site to go on top and everyone loved them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
this recipe is all it claims to be...soft...rises high...and freezes so well...also very easy to prepare...just the very best...whether i make it into layers or cupcakes angela327
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gallitelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Never made a scratch cake before and I must say this was AMAZING!!! Only change I made was I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup and did add a sprinkle of salt. Moist and light, I have to say this is probably the best chocolate cake I've ever had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this as is plus 1/2t of salt. AMAZING! My entire family loved it. Used a glass baking dish and 32 minutes was perfect. FANTASTIC recipe! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed this one perfectly and it smelled wonderful. Mid way I looked in the glass without opening the door and the centre had sunken down :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroosak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States