Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
The best chocolate cake recipe ever,I have never made any other chocolate cake since I made this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've made this twice already. I used this recipe for my four year old's birthday. I made cupcakes instead of a whole cake and they turned out great. While I mixed shortening, sugar, eggs, chocolate and vanilla, I mixed the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. I then added the dry alternately with the milk. (that's just the order I've always used to make cakes) and I added the hot coffee last. I took the tip from another reviewer and added a little salt after I tasted the batter. It made 42 cupcakes at 350 for 15 minutes. The cupcakes paired well with butter cream cream cheese frosting. I only needed 30 for the party but cupcakes freeze well so they will make a nice treat later without the waiting. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious, so moist and easy. This was my first "from scratch" cake. Followed the recipe exactly. My cake did do the "rectangle shaped" thing in the center that some others mentioned, but the center never dropped and it was easily covered with frosting, so it wasn't really a drawback, just kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
The best chocolate cupcakes I have ever made. I only made half a batch and came out with 12 cupcakes. Baked for 20 minutes. I only used 1/2 coffee and 1/4 milk. Oh and I used butter instead. I used meringue buttercream frosting from this site to go on top and everyone loved them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
this recipe is all it claims to be...soft...rises high...and freezes so well...also very easy to prepare...just the very best...whether i make it into layers or cupcakes angela327
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gallitelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Never made a scratch cake before and I must say this was AMAZING!!! Only change I made was I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup and did add a sprinkle of salt. Moist and light, I have to say this is probably the best chocolate cake I've ever had. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this as is plus 1/2t of salt. AMAZING! My entire family loved it. Used a glass baking dish and 32 minutes was perfect. FANTASTIC recipe! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed this one perfectly and it smelled wonderful. Mid way I looked in the glass without opening the door and the centre had sunken down :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroosak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is an excellent chocolate cake recipe. Just delicious! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This cake seemed to lack flavor, and had too much baking soda in it...as there was a hint of it left in the cake. I won't be baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States