Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I halved the recipe and used a loaf pan, and it still turned out perfectly. Very light and moist! Will make again and again. Oh, I also used instant coffee and it worked/tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Wonderful recipe. Where we live, cake mixes are very expensive and so this is a great, quick way to have cake. It's not too sweet, so it's very versatile. Put frosting on it to make it more sweet or just sprinkle powdered sugar on it to make it more "coffee cake" like. I've made this many times and usually am asked who brought me a cake mix from the States! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
The BEST chocolate cake, period. We used Caroline's Chocolate Fudge frosting as a topping and it turned out awesome. Next, we'll make this into cupcakes... so rich and delicious. Can't taste the coffee... but whatever it does, it worked! Highly recmmended! UPDATE: We made these into cupcakes... actually used half-recipe, and it made enough for 1 full pan of cupcakes. Cooked for about 15 minutes or so... they came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Didn't top them with anything, as they were very rich and delicious as they were. It's so cool to say you made something so good from 'scratch.' Of course the guys at the poker table look at you kinda funny when you tell them that... but that's their issue, not mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This cake turned out perfectly...although it took longer to bake than 30-35 min. I was worried the outer edges would get too baked before the middle did...so I lowered the temp to 325f and cooked for 20 min or so longer and perfect! I topped with a cream cheese frosting(not from this site) and it was amazing. The cake is not very sweet so a rich frosting makes it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I made this chocolate cake in Colorado, and attempted to make it into cupcakes. It was edible, but didn't raise right, fell in the middle of each cupcake as well as in the middle of the square cake (made with the leftover batter). It did have an unusual flavor from the coffee, but I would definately add more flour if you are in a high-altitude area. I probably won't attempt this recipe again, thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kimble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
awesome cake the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISTITA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good cake!, easy and tasty, or in my son's way: Yummy yummy! I used frosted it with the Chocolate Cheese frosting and it turned out great, we made it at night, and had it for breakfast, really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Very moist and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
HOLY ! This recipe Rocks!!!! super easy to make and yum yum yum. i frosted mine w/ homemade cream cheese frosting. and now im off for my 3rd piece....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States