Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
An AMAZING chocolate cake! Rich, moist, fluffy and flavorful. You really cannot taste the coffee, but it does something mysteriously spectacular in there. I was concerned that the dry ingredients might not blend well if added separately so I mixed them together in a small bowl and added them to the sugar and eggs mixture alternately with the liquids. Simply fabulous and EASY. This is the only chocolate cake I will make from now on. Wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
The best chocolate cake I have ever had... WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I cook a lot, but never had much luck homemade deserts...until now. This was excellent. I made it for my daughter's birthday and she loves it. It rose really high, wasn't too sweet. Turned out really well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very quick and easy. Made a few changes - used a round 8 inch cake tin and had to bake for 1hr 10min, and used 1/2 cup boiling water and 1/2 cup Tia Maria in place of coffee. It rose well, was moist and tasted great. Next time I'll split it and fill it with raspberries and cream but this time I didn't ice it, it great as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
My daughter has gestational diabeties so I tried this recipe using splenda and it exceeded my expectations for a sugar free cake. I am looking forward to the next time I make this using regular white sugar after the baby is born. Thanks for sharing your mom's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I used a cocoa frosting for an extra chocolate boost. Baking time closer to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Very moist, super easy cake. If your ever in a hurry and need a quick dessert to whip up this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Fantastic, moist, not too sweet and smells absolutely wonderful. Dusting it lightly with powdered sugar is also fine, so icing wasn't so important to us (less fat/calories). My family loves this cake, so it's a definite keeper. BTW, for those Americans who live in Germany: the closest I can get to having American all-purpose flour is sifting together 1 cup 405 flour and 1 cup 550 flour (or a 50/50 ratio for other recipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This cake was very good, but it just wasn't the best I had. I was expecting more coffee taste, and I didn't taste it at all. I made the recipe exactly as written. I did frost it with vanilla frosting also. It was moist, rose up nicely and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I halved the recipe and used a loaf pan, and it still turned out perfectly. Very light and moist! Will make again and again. Oh, I also used instant coffee and it worked/tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States