Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
these were AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly as it is and everyone loved it! You can't really taste the coffee, but I wouldn't take it out. The only problem I had was that it was really hard to spread icing because it was really moist and feel apart easily. My end result didn't look that good but tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rabat, Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer, Morocco
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe was very good. I didn't have a problem with the cook time...took 33 minutes for 9x13 pan. It had a rich chocolate flavor with a very slight hint of coffee. The texture was a little on the dry side. I made it for my dad for Father's Day....he's extremely picky, but he loved it and went back for seconds and thirds! I used the Mocha Icing recipe from this site, which upped the coffee flavor even more! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hammerthumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This cake was pretty good, I agree with other reviewers, that icing is what really helped give it flavour. I would try it again with more chocolate and maybe replace the coffee with something else. I couldn't taste it anyways. Baking time was closer to 45 minutes and I ended up with 1 round cake and 4 cupcakes! But, it's still nice and moist like other readers said. I'll try it again with some substitutions. I wouldn't say it's the best cake I've had, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe was easy to make and it was very fluffy. The taste, however came out so bland for me, I decided not to use it. Seemed like too much sugar, and the coffee gave it a strange undertone. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
this one is perfect! i made it for mothers day, and we all love it. it is best with something on it maybe put some icing or something. really nice. by the way this is the very first cake that i baked. and it's not that bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasig City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This is good...it is fluffy, but not overly chocolatey and it has a different taste. Nice with frosting, nothing to write home about. I'll keep looking, thanks though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Very delicious, I joint little less sugar (as I do usual) and found my new standard cake for family and office...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
What a delicious, moist cake! We loved it! I made it with sour cream chocolate frosting - great combination and easy to trim fat using skim milk & egg whites(cake) and fat free sour cream (frosting). Every little bit counts! Definitely rises really well so don't overfill your cake pan! I left about 1/2 inch in a round 9" cake pan and had so overflow. Would like it to be a little more chocolately - but we are raging chocoholics! Will make again every time I make chocolate cake but will add chcolate chips to the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Made it for a bake sale -- a big hit! Moist but light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very moist, never baked a chocolate cake like this but i liked it. did have to bake almost twice aslong though and be carefull not to burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States