Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is a yummy Chocolate Cake recipe!!! Its moist and sweet. To make it a little healthier I substituted 4 egg whites for the 2 eggs and butter for the shortening. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
SO GOOD! I am looking for that "special" cake, the one my son can say as he gets older he has to have for his birthday because it's mom's special cake. It really is awsome and i think the coffee is the "secret" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe is completely unsuitable for cupcakes, which is rather misleading considering the photo shows cupcakes. They didn't raise correctly (and I didn't open then oven) and the coffee flavor seems to somehow create an intensified burnt flavor at the bottom of each cupcake. Oh and the liners could not be pulled off without destroying the whole cupcake. So while this make work in layer cake form, its unsuitable for cupcakes and seems to be a generally unstable recipe. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Baked this recipes as cupcakes and it turned out delicious! I didn't have any vanilla (and didn't realize it till I was already in the process of making the batter), but it tasted fine without it. I made a very basic icing of powdered sugar and water and then sprinkled coconut flakes on top. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was just okay, no frills. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
When I baked this cake, it started to "goo" and bubble in the middle and then fell. To get the inside done, I had to overbake a little and the outside got a little dry.I had cleaned my coffee pot, with vinegar that morning, and maybe that was the problem,but a good flavor. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
oh this cake was lush! I worried about the taste issue some complained about so I added about 100g melted milk chocolate to the mix.... yum. frosted with a chocolate cream cheese frosting... a 3-year olds birthday cake delight! thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GASOLINE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My grandma came up with this recipe. I used this recipe when I worked as a baker at a restuarant, and one time a man ate a slice and liked it so much he bought the whole cake. I'm serious. It felt very rewarding. This cake is the absolute best when topped with peanut butter icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
these were AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly as it is and everyone loved it! You can't really taste the coffee, but I wouldn't take it out. The only problem I had was that it was really hard to spread icing because it was really moist and feel apart easily. My end result didn't look that good but tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rabat, Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer, Morocco
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe was very good. I didn't have a problem with the cook time...took 33 minutes for 9x13 pan. It had a rich chocolate flavor with a very slight hint of coffee. The texture was a little on the dry side. I made it for my dad for Father's Day....he's extremely picky, but he loved it and went back for seconds and thirds! I used the Mocha Icing recipe from this site, which upped the coffee flavor even more! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hammerthumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States