Mom's Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Easy to make...a surprise to taste. Everyone liked the chicken dish and some took it for lunch the next day. My wife and I gave it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Hi, I tried this recipe because it called for chicken with bone in, and both my husband and I were impressed! Great recipe Ann; I followed recipe exactly and it turned out fantastic and definately is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
***** I added onion chunks and Paul Prudhomme'sPoultry Magic. Ialso increased paprika and garlic powder. Yumm! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I was doubtful of it's flavour but oh what a surprise. Simple and tasty! Easy to adjust the seasoning. How much more easy could it get! Hubby and kids liked this dish. Well worth the (little) effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have read the reviews and I don't care if this isn't truly Hungarian. My husband and I loved it. The gravy it made was delicious and I served it over (the Swedish) dumplings. I did tweak the recipe some deleting the thyme because we don't like it's flavor. I used Hungarian sweet paprika and a little smoked paprika. I didn't use the shortening either but used vegetable oil and it worked well. I usually love spicy but this recipe I feel is perfect without the kick. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Beautiful and easy !!! I used skin on bone in thighs, and they are perfect for this dish. I cut the shorting in half, this is pretty fatty chicken (it was on sale so you know how that goes.....) I did add a pinch of cyanne, because this smoked paprika I have in the house is pretty mild. I will make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
this is better than my German friend''s grandmother's recipe....and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
The flavor and consistency were great in this dish! I used four skinless, boneless chicken breasts instead of bone-in. I cut each piece into quarters and reduced the simmer time to 40 minutes total. I used the veg oil suggestion from another reviewer and that worked, too. I was out of seasoned salt, so I substituted with Carribean jerk seasoning instead and just added a little salt and used a little less paprika than the recipe suggests. Really delicious and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was fantastic! I made a couple of minor adjustments to the recipe. I added sliced fresh mushrooms when I added the onions. I also used more paprika, salt and pepper. I also used a bit more milk and flour to make the sauce a bit thicker (sorry, I didn't measure). My whole family loved this served over egg noodles with steamed broccoli and extra sauce on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
One of our favorite recipes from this site. I use boneless chicken and quarter it, slicing the onion rings into little half-or quarter-circles to place on top. I've always found the amount of paprika perfect for a wonderfully tasty dish, and we love it over a generous bed of buttery white rice. It takes a while to simmer, but it's completely worth it! It tastes fantastic with the "Simple Brussels Sprouts" from this site, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleFlour
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States