Mom's Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
One of our favorite recipes from this site. I use boneless chicken and quarter it, slicing the onion rings into little half-or quarter-circles to place on top. I've always found the amount of paprika perfect for a wonderfully tasty dish, and we love it over a generous bed of buttery white rice. It takes a while to simmer, but it's completely worth it! It tastes fantastic with the "Simple Brussels Sprouts" from this site, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleFlour
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was fantastic! I made a couple of minor adjustments to the recipe. I added sliced fresh mushrooms when I added the onions. I also used more paprika, salt and pepper. I also used a bit more milk and flour to make the sauce a bit thicker (sorry, I didn't measure). My whole family loved this served over egg noodles with steamed broccoli and extra sauce on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I used to make this meal quite often. One thing I never heard of it's the milk. All Hungarians that I know (I am one as well) just simply use sour cream. It's not even necessary to cook the chicken with it, I like it more when the meal is done and everybody individually puts as much sour cream as they want. The best is with noodles and if it's served some kind of vinegar salad (like small cucumbers) it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I was getting ready to make this dish when I realized I didn't have any paprika. I figured I would keep going anyway, and substituted cayenne for the paprika, since some people thought it needed a bit of spice. I'm glad I did; it turned out terrific! I used bone-in chicken breasts. Normally I have trouble getting them to cook all the way through, but these were perfect. The only problem I had was with the sauce. I reduced the recipe to 2 servings and I found there wasn't enough milk. It turned out fine though, I just kept adding a little at a time until there were no lumps. Sorry I don't know how much I ended up adding. I will definitely make this again, although next time I'll make sure I have some paprika. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was good but plain since paprika doesn't add much flavor. Need to add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This recipe was good just a little too spicy. Maybe I added too much paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
The flavor and consistency were great in this dish! I used four skinless, boneless chicken breasts instead of bone-in. I cut each piece into quarters and reduced the simmer time to 40 minutes total. I used the veg oil suggestion from another reviewer and that worked, too. I was out of seasoned salt, so I substituted with Carribean jerk seasoning instead and just added a little salt and used a little less paprika than the recipe suggests. Really delicious and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I chose this recipe because it called for chicken on the bone rather than boneless. It was very easy to prepare but it lacked the zip that other chicken paprika recipes have. I added a cup of plain yogurt and then served it with a big spoon of sour cream. I also needed to add much more paprika. Once all these additions were made my picky eaters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
this is better than my German friend''s grandmother's recipe....and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2000
This makes a great "comfort" dinner when served with rice or noodles. It does take a little time while it simmers but it smells and tastes great. I chose to add mushrooms as well for an extra touch, and I replaced the shortening with a tbsp of vegetable oil in order to cut the fat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States