Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This recipe is very similar to the one my Italian Grandmother taught me to make. Here's what she would do: (1) used a large Dutch Oven (the "spaghetti pot") rather than a skillet; (2) always used Olive Oil as her "vegetable oil"; (3) dipped the chicken pieces in egg prior to dredging them in flour; (4) used parsley and/or basil rather than oregano; (5) never used mushrooms; (6)pierced the onion and put it in whole (and then discarded it before serving the stew); (7) sliced the green peppers in strips rather than chopping them; (8) used red wine rather than white; (9) added carrots and potatoes (which she had cleaned, peeled, quartered and par-cooked) to the pot half-way through the cooking time (which was more like 45 minutes than 30). We used to eat this right from the pot when we were kids it was so delicious. I tend to remove the pieces from the pot first to a serving dish or salad bowl, let them sit for a while (perhaps 10 minutes), and then remove them, the vegetables and as much of the "sauce" as I want to yet another serving dish (less greasy that way). My family loves this dish, and prepared this way, there's no need to serve it "over" or "alongside of" anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
875 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Fabulous! I did change a few things. 3 cloves garlic. A can of Italian stewed tomatoes in addition to the diced tomatoes. 1 cup red wine instead of 1/2 cup white. The extra ingredients worked well to cover the chicken while cooking. The chicken turned out SO tender! It was falling off the bone. I really didn't think a half hour would actually cook it. It really needed salt to bring out the flavor, though. I recommend 1 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. Next time I would only use 1 cup flour for a lighter coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Don't understand why anyone would call this recipe boring. Yes, I too added more seasonings and totally skipped the flour coating as it's not necessary and actually gets in the way during the browning process. The key to a really good cacciatore is to brown the chicken very, very well. The oil is also not needed as the chicken will produce its own. Once browned, you're left with those wonderful tasty bits on the bottom of your pan that helps to make an incredible and almost brown colored hearty sauce. I also suggest letting the chicken and sauce simmer for a couple of hours to really bring out the flavors. If you have a cast iron skillet or dutch oven, all the better. Good basic recipe Jana and thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Terriffic recipe!!! Easy too. Omitted the flour based on other reviews and used Italian seasoning instead of just oregano cause I didn't have any on hand. Used two cans of diced tomatoes for more sauce and added green onions along with regular one. I like my sauces THICK, so I added 3 small cans of tomato paste. If you don't, use at least one or the sauce will be tasty but runny. The longer you cook on a low simmer, the more the meat will fall off the bone. Remember to occasionally stir for all cook times, long or short. Oh yeah, if you're able, brown chicken in just about ANYTHING but vegetable oil (olive, canola, Country Crock spread.....all are a little healthier). Thanx for the recipe, yo!! I swear I love this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This is a great recipe. As usual, I read the reviews (thanks) and took a few suggestions. I used 8 boneless breasts (always my preference), verly lightly floured them (less than 1/2 cup of flour), and I used a touch of olive oil for browning. I doubled the peppers and onions, but cut them into 1-inch pieces. I used a cup of red wine, twice the garlic, and a small can of tomato sauce at the end when I thought it was a little too liquidy. I love this. It's lowfat, very tasty and even easier to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was really fantastic! The only change I made was that I used skinless chicken breasts and a cabernet instead of white wine. This will most likely end up on my weekly rotation!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts (8 of them) along with a few drumsticks. I mixed 30 oz of Italian style diced tomatoes, 1 sm can of tomato sauce, 1 c of chicken broth, 1 c of wine, mushrooms, onion, green peppers, fresh parsley, oregano, basil, garlic and poured on top of chicken and put everything in the crockpot. Since I was pressed for time, I cooked on high for 2 hours & low for an add'l 2 hours. I did coat with flour & brown each piece of chicken first. Served on top of angel hair pasta. Very good! Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. Made it as written and I very much enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing! On a side note, I SO don't understand some of these reviews. The ones saying, I changed this and that and added these things and used a completely different cooking method so with my alterations its 5 stars. WHAT???!!! If you're doing it differently that is totally fine, but how dare you change the recipe so much and then rate it whether it be a good or bad rating. I'm utterly baffled! When I change a recipe I will not rate it because it is no longer the posted recipe! *Sorry for venting*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyyummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Made a huge batch of this for a big family gathering...everyone loved it. Made a few changes, based on other reviews. Used red wine instead of white and a ton of garlic. Finished the dish off in a slow cooker which worked great. Definitely don't skip the step of coating the chicken with flour...makes a big difference in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
THIS IS A GOOD STANDARD CHICKEN CAICCIATORE. I CUT MY CHICKEN BREASTS UP INTO BITE SIZE PIECES, COVERED WITH FLOUR, BROWNED IN SOME OLIVE OIL, REMOVED FROM PAN AND THEN COOKED THE PEPPERS AND MUSHROOMS NO ONIONS (HUBBIE DOENS'T LIKE THEM) :( WHEN THOSE WERE COOKED ADDED BACK THE CHICKEN AND A CAN OF HUNTS TOMATO SAUCE AND A COUPLE OF GOOD DASHES OF ITALIAN SEASONING. SIMMERED FOR ABOUT 1/2 HOUR. YUMMIE. SERVED WITH ZITI. HUBBIE SAID IT WAS "AWESOME" THANKS FOR THE POST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MELANIE ~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States