Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family. My husband gave it a 4 or 4 1/2 but my son said a 5. Since my son is a very picky eater, I went with his rating. LOL I took some of the advice from other reviews and wrote them down. This recipe will become a regular at our house. Thanks you so much for helping me find something new and different to make with a picky eater in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Wonderful! I added fresh basil and zesty Italian seasonings instead, and a can of tomato soup. I also cooked it in the crockpot after browning the chicken. I have made this 3 times now, the first time according to the recipe and made my changes this time. I also didn't use flour to brown the chicken, and seasoned the chicken before browning. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
doubled the tomatoes, and used italian seasoning. Also used skinless boneless breast. Everyone thought it was perfect. Served over spaghetti seasoned with italian seasoning and garlic salt. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
wasn't the worst but its not the cacciatore I a grew up eating. I will definitely only use chicken breast next time because it came out really greasy tasting. I agree with the other reviews and recommend using red wine for a richer taste and more appealing color. the final result was a thin, orange, greasy, sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. Made it as written and I very much enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing! On a side note, I SO don't understand some of these reviews. The ones saying, I changed this and that and added these things and used a completely different cooking method so with my alterations its 5 stars. WHAT???!!! If you're doing it differently that is totally fine, but how dare you change the recipe so much and then rate it whether it be a good or bad rating. I'm utterly baffled! When I change a recipe I will not rate it because it is no longer the posted recipe! *Sorry for venting*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyyummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this in my tiny apartment kitchen, and invited my best friends (two hungry college boys) to come help me. I'm glad I had them on hand to wash dishes, because I needed several pots and pans. It was delicious and worth the effort. The portions are big!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wonderful; my first time making cacciatore! A few modifications, based on what I had on hand...chicken broth in place of white wine. Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies. Added some chopped fresh mushrooms. Served over spaghetti. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs, less peppers and onions and more mushrooms. Added small can of tomoato sauce. 2nd time: I used about 1/4 C flour and skinlees boneless chicken breast Next time; I don;t think I;ll use any flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Loved this! I did substitute the white wine for red and left out the mushrooms! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very easy and good. I like it more tomato-ey so I doubled the diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States