Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
First time making cacciatore and I am wondering what I was waiting for! Absolutely delicious. I made basic changes to suit our likes, but did not change the bones of the recipe. Used chicken breasts (about 3 pounds), a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, no mushrooms (so I used an extra pepper - will use 3 next time), olive oil for browning, red wine instead of white and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper. My fiance and I raved about how good this was. Looking forward to leftovers for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe. Made it for dinner today & it was quite a hit. I omitted the white wine with red wine, used less flour. Someone suggested stewed tomaoes & diced tomatoes and it gave it a little xtra flavor which was very nice. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs & Served over Penne Pasta (Both on sale) Meal for four plus 2 extra lunch servings cost me less than $10.00 to make. Great recipe.Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCabrera007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
AWESOME!! Quick, delicious and just like my mother's. Really! I am not a fan of a lot of recipes outside of the family but this gets an A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Big hit!! Easy to make! Defintiely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Unbelieveably great! My family just devoured this meal. Honestly this meal says its for 8, this fed 5 adults with absolutely no leftovers! I followed the recipe almost to the tee,just tweeked it alittle. Instead of 14oz can of diced tomatoes I used 28oz can( knew I would need more sauce)we used all fresh herbs from our garden and added about 2tbs. of fresh basil with the oregano. We double the peppers and onions and garlic,using 2 peppers,2 onions and 4 garlic cloves ( we love garlic).Used spagetti and fresh baked local italian bread. Other than that we followed the recipe and no leftovers as I said! Thank you, it was a great Saturday night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Great recipe, nice sharp flavours. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
GREAT! I have to say this, if you are changing more then two main ingredients, or techniques in a recipe, Just write your own recipe and post it and let us all review your recipe. I wants reviews on the recipe I see there in print, not huge modifications - its no longer "that recipe". There is a huge list of Chicken cacciatore recipes, get one closer to what you want to make. This was great as posted, thanks to the original poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very tasty and easy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I gave this 4 stars for I had followed other suggestions. I love the recipe, but, I needed a better 4 heart recipe. I used chx breasts, fake egg washed and flour, no salt stewed toms, and a lg. can of crushed toms from Target, a lot of their stuff has less salt, surprized, I was. I added 3 cloves garlic, 3 tb. fresh basil, 3 tb. fresh parsley, 2 tb. dry oregano, 1/3 c no salt ketchup ( I know) but it needs sweets dude. 2 green bells thinly sliced. 1 sweet onion cut into 4, 2 lb. mushrooms cut into 1/4 as suggested, additional italian seasoning...1/4 c with no salt. I found this one at the dollar store haha. Go figure. I used 3 chx breasts skinned deboned, 4 got to mention, and I browned the chx in evoo, then placed into crock pot with all the rest. Forgetting to get to the store in time to reduce red wine to the half cup mentioned, although I used 3/4 c because it's how it worked. Placed egg noodles underneath el dente before serving. My crock pot took four hours on high. I turned it off before starting the noodles and placed ladels in the serving bowls, for my fam" was hungry.. lol. Just to let it cool enough. Ate by 5:30.... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Perfect! Used two large chicken breasts, and five drumsticks, breaded in flour mix of salt, pepper and garlic salt. Browned on all sides. In a separate pan, browned one nion, one whole garlic head, minced and chopped green bell pepper. Can on diced tomato, two fresh roma tomatos (chopped) three - four good shakes of Italian seasoning and a half bottle of red wine (Cab). Simmered for 50 minutes and added mushrooms for last ten. Ate it over penne pasta. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States