Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used chicken thighs, italian seasoning instead of oregano and stewed tomatoes. The sauce was thin for our liking, next time I will add some tomato sauce or paste. Served this over angel hair pasta with garlic bread and a green side salad. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is delish the chicken was fall off the bone. I did add more basil and garlic just because that how we like it thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I only made a few changes. Used a pound of boneless chicken breast, pounded thin and then sliced, and only needed about 1/2 cup of flour. Doubled green pepper, onion and used 2 cans of diced tomatoes. The rest was pretty much like the reciped called for. Served over pasta with a sprinkle of parm cheese. It was delicous. Light and healthy tasting. The only thing I would do differently next time is season the chicken a bit more. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
First time making cacciatore and I am wondering what I was waiting for! Absolutely delicious. I made basic changes to suit our likes, but did not change the bones of the recipe. Used chicken breasts (about 3 pounds), a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, no mushrooms (so I used an extra pepper - will use 3 next time), olive oil for browning, red wine instead of white and added a few shakes of crushed red pepper. My fiance and I raved about how good this was. Looking forward to leftovers for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great recipe. Made it for dinner today & it was quite a hit. I omitted the white wine with red wine, used less flour. Someone suggested stewed tomaoes & diced tomatoes and it gave it a little xtra flavor which was very nice. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs & Served over Penne Pasta (Both on sale) Meal for four plus 2 extra lunch servings cost me less than $10.00 to make. Great recipe.Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCabrera007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
AWESOME!! Quick, delicious and just like my mother's. Really! I am not a fan of a lot of recipes outside of the family but this gets an A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Big hit!! Easy to make! Defintiely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Unbelieveably great! My family just devoured this meal. Honestly this meal says its for 8, this fed 5 adults with absolutely no leftovers! I followed the recipe almost to the tee,just tweeked it alittle. Instead of 14oz can of diced tomatoes I used 28oz can( knew I would need more sauce)we used all fresh herbs from our garden and added about 2tbs. of fresh basil with the oregano. We double the peppers and onions and garlic,using 2 peppers,2 onions and 4 garlic cloves ( we love garlic).Used spagetti and fresh baked local italian bread. Other than that we followed the recipe and no leftovers as I said! Thank you, it was a great Saturday night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Great recipe, nice sharp flavours. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
GREAT! I have to say this, if you are changing more then two main ingredients, or techniques in a recipe, Just write your own recipe and post it and let us all review your recipe. I wants reviews on the recipe I see there in print, not huge modifications - its no longer "that recipe". There is a huge list of Chicken cacciatore recipes, get one closer to what you want to make. This was great as posted, thanks to the original poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States