Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I gave this 4 stars for I had followed other suggestions. I love the recipe, but, I needed a better 4 heart recipe. I used chx breasts, fake egg washed and flour, no salt stewed toms, and a lg. can of crushed toms from Target, a lot of their stuff has less salt, surprized, I was. I added 3 cloves garlic, 3 tb. fresh basil, 3 tb. fresh parsley, 2 tb. dry oregano, 1/3 c no salt ketchup ( I know) but it needs sweets dude. 2 green bells thinly sliced. 1 sweet onion cut into 4, 2 lb. mushrooms cut into 1/4 as suggested, additional italian seasoning...1/4 c with no salt. I found this one at the dollar store haha. Go figure. I used 3 chx breasts skinned deboned, 4 got to mention, and I browned the chx in evoo, then placed into crock pot with all the rest. Forgetting to get to the store in time to reduce red wine to the half cup mentioned, although I used 3/4 c because it's how it worked. Placed egg noodles underneath el dente before serving. My crock pot took four hours on high. I turned it off before starting the noodles and placed ladels in the serving bowls, for my fam" was hungry.. lol. Just to let it cool enough. Ate by 5:30.... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Perfect! Used two large chicken breasts, and five drumsticks, breaded in flour mix of salt, pepper and garlic salt. Browned on all sides. In a separate pan, browned one nion, one whole garlic head, minced and chopped green bell pepper. Can on diced tomato, two fresh roma tomatos (chopped) three - four good shakes of Italian seasoning and a half bottle of red wine (Cab). Simmered for 50 minutes and added mushrooms for last ten. Ate it over penne pasta. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe is very easy to make. The only thing I did differently was not coat the chicken in flour and it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this with a few changes. You certainly don't need 2 cups of flour. I used 1/2 cup and threw out at least 1/4 cup of it. Also, I added 1 cup of wine instead of 1/2 cup and I used 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning. This is very good. I did use chicken breasts as we are trying to cut down on fats. Due to my changes I only gave it a 4 star rating. It isn't the best I have had but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I did not care for this, even though I followed the directions. *shrug*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Well not a bad recipe, I would omit the flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I used no flour; breaded the chicken lightly with fine bread crumbs. Also; I did not use the wine, but added some 2 TB balsamic vinegar and a little water instead. Mine was a little sweet, but still very good. Next time I will try the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was excellend. i used red wine instead of white, I added a green and red pepper and some basil, and i simmered for 60 minutes instead of 30 and the chicken just fell apart! will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Hubby loved it! I added double the spices & garlic plus 1/2 tsp of paprika for the chicken les & thighs, which I pulled the skin off of, 1/2 cup dry red wine, & a small can of tomato paste. It was rich & delicious! We didn't use rice or noodles & now one of his favorites. We threw shredded Parmesan on top and Oh So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Good recipe i add some spaghetti sauce i had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States