Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Good Not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I omitted the mushrooms and doubled the peppers and onions and used italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
After reading the 1-star comments on this recipe, I did add a little Italian seasoning (a well known brand of salad dressing, in fact!). I used skinless chicken breasts (cut into cubes), and about 4 diced fresh tomatoes. The sauce was thick, the chicken was well cooked, and the whole family loved it!! Definitely going to become a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this dish just as it was written. It's delicious. Served with buttered gnocchi Nice and easy for a weeknight Thanks Jana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was fabulous just as is. No changes made at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I think that for the folks who found the sauce too thin, that's what comes of using lots less flour, which clearly acts as the thickener for this sauce, hence so much of it*!* I'm with the folks who thought that there's tons of other recipes, why not post your own, if it's vastly different? I do love reading all of your reviews and do take ideas from them all, so there is that!! ENJOY**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a similar recipe I've used for 50 years I too do not dredge the chicken, not necessary. Along with the suggested ingredients I have added chopped black olives, thin sliced pepperoni, and spicy Italian sausage with the chicken for added heat. I use a good Italian seasoning already put together as it seems to have the perfect balance. I never use wine in the sauce, prefer it on the table. Be sure to brown the meat in olive oil not vegetable oil for wonderful flavor. Also I add a little parmesan freshly grated to the sauce while cooking to incorporate the flavors, plus have it on the table to add when serving. If the sauce is a little too sharp, add a sprinkle of sugar to mellow it. Careful not to use much, you don't want it sweet. This is a recipe you can be creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I will use this recipe again!!!!Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Did not like the addition of the flour, oregano and definitely not enough spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great taste. DH and SIL loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States