Mom's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this last night for my family and they loved it. It was perfect for some family members with dietary restrictions. So those who needed more salt or heat did themselves. Will definitely cook this dish again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My mom was Italian and made this all the time. She never floured her chicken or used breasts (as they are always dry and stringy). I have made this using onions, peppers, tomatoes, tomato sauce, parsley, basil, salt and pepper,(never oregano) like my mother did. I also have tried adding red wine, carrots and mushrooms. I like it both ways. Mama used to serve it over rice and we prefer pasta. As always on this site, I double the sauce, as there never seems to be enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I liked the ingredients and saw the cooking video, so I was good to go cooking! It turned out so good!! My husband does not care for chickens and said that he never liked the dish before. Well, the recipe is so great that he liked the dish. I tweaked by adding followings: 1)Added powder of paprika, onion and garlic in the flour to coat chicken. 2)Kept white wine instead of red. 3)Add both dried oregano and basil. 4)Used fresh tomatoes instead of can’s. 5)Add a few dash of cayenne pepper to kick. 6)Add 1/2 tsp of chicken bouillon to add the flavor. 7)Added shredded carrots. Depending on your taste preference: I did not like to have strong tomato taste, so I did not add any tomato sauce or pure, but the dish had wonderful mixture of all vegetables. Also, Usually chicken and white wine go very well, and I would still highly recommend white wine for the dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
made this with just two chicken breasts cut up but left the sauce the same. Did not put chicken in for all of cooking time. Put it in with the mushrooms so that it was tender at the end. Served with mashed potatoes. Travis loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Good Not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I omitted the mushrooms and doubled the peppers and onions and used italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
After reading the 1-star comments on this recipe, I did add a little Italian seasoning (a well known brand of salad dressing, in fact!). I used skinless chicken breasts (cut into cubes), and about 4 diced fresh tomatoes. The sauce was thick, the chicken was well cooked, and the whole family loved it!! Definitely going to become a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this dish just as it was written. It's delicious. Served with buttered gnocchi Nice and easy for a weeknight Thanks Jana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was fabulous just as is. No changes made at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I think that for the folks who found the sauce too thin, that's what comes of using lots less flour, which clearly acts as the thickener for this sauce, hence so much of it*!* I'm with the folks who thought that there's tons of other recipes, why not post your own, if it's vastly different? I do love reading all of your reviews and do take ideas from them all, so there is that!! ENJOY**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States