Mom's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
the best cheesecake ever!!! i did not overbeat the ingredients and i used a waterbath. it was still jiggly in the center when it was done and that worried me a bit. creamy to the bone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Awesome. Made it for a family gathering and everyone complimented it. Someone said "I don't even like cheesecake but that was amazing". I topped it with halved strawberries and a strawberry glaze - fortunate to hide the 3" crack that formed in the middle. Next time I will certainly let it cool in the oven even longer than 30 minutes - I'd probably say for a few HOURS at least, I think the crack developed because I went from the oven after 30 minutes to the outside which was fairly cold to chill it. I made the crust with only 3 tbs butter and it still held together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Great recipe---really easy to make. This was my first cheesecake and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
New favorite cheesecake recipe, not too heavy! I followed some other reviews and used a bit less sour cream than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I love this cheesecake! I had never made one before, this is so easy and so cremay. Very tasty. I'm making another one today for tomorrow. I did however place a 13 x 9 pan of boiling water underneath while cooking. It came out beautifully. If anyone is questioning making a cheesecake, make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Great cheesecake. I tried to make it "lower carb" by eliminating the crust, and substituting Splenda for the sugar. Cooked just right and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is an excellent basic cheesecake. Ultra creamy. The first time i made this i topped it with a homemade blueberry syrup. Folks were fighting over the last slices. Make sure to follow the cooling instructions so it will set up properly. I baked in a springform and instead of a water bath i placed a water filled pan on the shelf below it - worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
It was my 1st time baking a cheesecake, and this recipe turned out great. I typically enjoy thicker cheesecakes so I only used 1 cup of sour cream instead of the 2 cups the recipe calls for; however, that was the only change I made. Maybe it was beginner's luck, but it didn't crack at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This was the first cheesecake that I have ever made, and it came out GREAT! I used a water bath, and it did not crack at all! I did only use one cup of sour cream, and I used fat-free, simply because that was what we had in the refriderator. My whole family loved this, and it was great with some cherry pie filling on top. Will defenetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This recipe was GREAT!! It turned out perfect and this was my first attempt! Everyone said it was the best they ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States