Mom's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This recipe was great. Cracks in cheesecake come from overmixing the batter or getting too much air into it not from not having a water bath. Don't overmix or beat your batter and this cheesecake won't have any cracks (mine didn't).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUNANGEL719
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Wow! i made this to take with me to some new friends house. I was really scared, it was not my first attempt at cheesecake, but my first attempt at high altitude. Most recipes just don't come out quite right up here, but this one sure did. Smooth texture, followed recipe to the letter. I used the 13x9 pan of water on the lower shelf, no luck. It cracked everywhere, but it was still good. I was very apprehensive about submerging my cake into a water bath, but might try it next time. I also let it sit in the oven for 1 hour, on the counter for another hour and then outside (50's). It had already cracked inside the oven. It was so good, we decided this should be our wedding cake this summer! Can't go wrong here. We ate it plain with fresh strawberries. ****** UPDATE: I made this for my wedding, we had 40 people and I baked three of them at almost 14,000 ft. elevation (CO mountains) they turned a little dark, but didn't crack, they did sink a bit though (I used a stand mixer this time instead of a hand beater, I think this is what made the difference, do not over beat). I used an 8" and 2 -9" pans. EVERY single person raved at how fantastic this was and wanted to know my bakery. When I told them I made it (2 days ahead and held in the frig) they absolutely could not believe it. I practice twice (with a hand beater at lower altitude) before attempting my wedding cakes. We decorated with flowers, berries and offered a topping bar of choices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNANGEL719

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is an excellent basic cheesecake. Ultra creamy. The first time i made this i topped it with a homemade blueberry syrup. Folks were fighting over the last slices. Make sure to follow the cooling instructions so it will set up properly. I baked in a springform and instead of a water bath i placed a water filled pan on the shelf below it - worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
As I always do, I set the timer for five minutes less than the recipe stated, just to be on the safe side. That usually has been very helpful...but not this time. At 55 minutes my cheesecake was overdone. If I was to try this again (but more than likely I won't) I would either reduce the temperature to 325 degrees or shorten the baking time by 10-15 minutes, but even at that this would still be just a basic and average cheesecake. Also, for those who decide to try this recipe, I would suggest using three eggs, not four, and butter, not margarine, in the crust. I used the four eggs and didn't like that I could taste the "egginess."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Turned out pretty well for my first cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Caldwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
It was my 1st time baking a cheesecake, and this recipe turned out great. I typically enjoy thicker cheesecakes so I only used 1 cup of sour cream instead of the 2 cups the recipe calls for; however, that was the only change I made. Maybe it was beginner's luck, but it didn't crack at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very good. I left out the salt, used more margarine for the crust (I like it to stick together more) and used low fat sour cream and low fat cream cheese. I baked it exactly for the time shown, left it in the oven turned off for an hour and then on the counter for another hour and then to the refrigerator. Mine did not crack and I did not use a water bath. I did wrap the bottom in foil though - just to be sure nothing leaked through. It was a teeny bit soft in the very middle, but it didn't affect the flavor. Served with a mixture of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries mixed with sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
My first attempt at making a cheesecake. I was quite pleased. It didn't even crack. I placed the pan in a water bath, which I read keeps it from cracking and it worked. I don't think I'll add cinnamon to the crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
the best cheesecake ever!!! i did not overbeat the ingredients and i used a waterbath. it was still jiggly in the center when it was done and that worried me a bit. creamy to the bone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Wonderful cheesecake. Very creamy and perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States