Mom's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I made it tonight and only was able to cool it in the fridge for an hour or so (after the 1 hour cooling in the oven) so it wasn't cold, but everyone loved it. And several said it was the best cheese cake they'd ever had! I will definetly make this again! Also, I experimented with the crust this time because i had a bunch of chocolate covered pretzels that had all melted together. I chopped it up and then also used a couple graham crackers. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Great recipe!! I actually only had 2 & 1/2 bars of cream cheese, so I reduced the recipe to use only 3 eggs, a touch less sugar, vanilla, salt, and sour cream. Still used the 9" springfoam pan and basic crust (eliminated cinnamon). It was EXCELLENT!! Great for father's day! Nice and smooth - used the 13 X 9 pan of water and no cracks! Browned just a touch on the edges at 330 degrees for an hour. It cooled in the over (door closed) for about 4 hours and was perfectly set. I managed to save only one piece for my husband's lunch today! Great recipe even for those of us who tweak everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a wonderful basic cheesecake recipe. It turned out creamy and thick and everything that a cheesecake should be. I changed the flavor a bit by substituting almond extract and black cherry extract for some of the vanilla, and the result was fantastic. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Used a 9" diameter foil pan, and converted the recipe from 12 to 8 servings. If you do this, you may want to keep the original ingredient amounts for the crust, depending on how much crust you like. This cheesecake came out reaally well! I put a pan of water on the shelf underneath the cheesecake. Baked for 45-50 minutes and let it cool in the oven for an additional ~15 minutes. Then let it cool outside and then refridgerate. The conversion calls for 2 packages of cream cheese, so I used one low fat and one whole fat, with regular sour cream. The consistency turned out fine, and no cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I had no problems making this, it has become my holiday dish. I make it the night before and chill in the fridge, then top it with caramel sauce and pecans. It is a big hit! UPDATE: I cut the amount of sugar down to only one cup and it was fantastic! A little tangy and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by r.nole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I really did not like the consistency of this cheesecake....much too eggy and you could hardly taste the cream cheese, so disapointing because the batter tastes wonderful. You can find a much better recipe with half the cooking time and way better, more consistent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Yum! My first cheesecake & declared a success! At a work potluck, a coworker with many a cheesecake under her belt loved it. We both thought it light & airy, a nice difference from most dense ones. Great as is but can't wait to try it again with some toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I have made this recipe twice, and I have gotten great feedback! I loved the texture, and I didn't get any cracks the second time. My only changes were that I left out the cinnamon, and used 3/4 the stick instead of 1/2 the stick, because the crust wasn't holding together enough. I also baked it in a 10-inch dark pan, so i changed the time to 45 minutes, which turned out fine. I will definitely keep this recipe and use it again and again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Very good. made this cheesecake twice and made 4 cheesecakes they all were ate in less than two weeks. very good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I honestly can't see what the fuss is about this recipe. It was far too eggy for my taste. Perhaps that's why it's so smooth and not as dense as a cheesecake with more cream cheese than egg in it. I used to work in a bakery and was looking for a recipe similar to the ones we used. This is not it, and if I try it again I will reduce the amount of eggs, because it was just too much egg taste for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States