Mom's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
hi, it sounds good and cant wait to make it but I have a little question? Um, why do we pour the batter into paper towel lined pan? wont the batter stick to paper towels? wouldnt wax paper be better or what am I missing here, lol? thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I have made this cake several times and everytime it's a hit. It's very moist and yummy. I do substitute a few ingredients. I use 1 tsp. of allspice and 1 tsp. cinnomon. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. I add raisins because to me carrot cake isn't carrot cake without them. As for lining the pan with paper towels...I didn't. I just prepared my pan with oil & flour and baked as directed. I baked it a bit slower than the directions assuring even cooking. I make this a two layer cake and doubled the frosting recipe to have enough to cover both layers. I sprinkled chopped pecans over for garnish. It taste great and makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Champion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
where did I go wrong? tasted good, but turned out like a rubber duck, Mixture too wet maybe, but followed the recipe exactly, maybe it's the Australian carrots at fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
The BEST carrot cake so far. Walnuts are not very popular in our house so I substituted raisins and it worked just as good. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Best carrot cake. We used canned carrot. I supervisor a school cafeteria and this was an excellant way to use some of our government commodities. We fixed it for Christmas and are having it for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Moist Cake! I made mine with 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger for a little more flavor. I also used 3 cups of shredded carrots rather that the cooked. Next time I make it I will pour it onto a parchment paper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I'm not sure what the other person did wrong either...I made this because I had leftover cooked carrots and it was FANTASTIC!! Very very very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe.....!! I'm not sure what could have gone wrong for the person it didn't work out for, but it always comes out great for me!! Instead of using just cinnamon, I use cardamom, as it adds a special sweet spiciness to it....then I cheat and make things simple by just using a commericla cream cheese frosting - which is always a hit.....a super way to make use of the leftover carrots from dinner or just using up the carrots that are left in your garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is the best carrot cake. My family insists that I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shony Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States