Mom's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
where did I go wrong? tasted good, but turned out like a rubber duck, Mixture too wet maybe, but followed the recipe exactly, maybe it's the Australian carrots at fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I'm not sure what the other person did wrong either...I made this because I had leftover cooked carrots and it was FANTASTIC!! Very very very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is the best carrot cake. My family insists that I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUCHAT86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Best carrot cake. We used canned carrot. I supervisor a school cafeteria and this was an excellant way to use some of our government commodities. We fixed it for Christmas and are having it for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
The BEST carrot cake so far. Walnuts are not very popular in our house so I substituted raisins and it worked just as good. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
hi, it sounds good and cant wait to make it but I have a little question? Um, why do we pour the batter into paper towel lined pan? wont the batter stick to paper towels? wouldnt wax paper be better or what am I missing here, lol? thanks in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Moist Cake! I made mine with 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger for a little more flavor. I also used 3 cups of shredded carrots rather that the cooked. Next time I make it I will pour it onto a parchment paper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I have made this cake several times and everytime it's a hit. It's very moist and yummy. I do substitute a few ingredients. I use 1 tsp. of allspice and 1 tsp. cinnomon. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. I add raisins because to me carrot cake isn't carrot cake without them. As for lining the pan with paper towels...I didn't. I just prepared my pan with oil & flour and baked as directed. I baked it a bit slower than the directions assuring even cooking. I make this a two layer cake and doubled the frosting recipe to have enough to cover both layers. I sprinkled chopped pecans over for garnish. It taste great and makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This cake was extremly moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States