Mom's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I agree with Austrilian carrots... this was rubber cake. I thought maybe it was that I used fresh pineapple. It was good frosting....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made this cake and loved it! I did change a couple of things, I used parchment paper, pecans instead of walnuts and two 8" cake pans. I also doubled the icing because I had the two pans. I thought it was an excellent recipe but it lacked a little something so next time I think I'll add a little ginger and cloves to the mix and see how that is but overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made this cake for a coworker for her birthday and I got lots of compliments on it. It was very moist and the coconut was a welcome addition. The birthday girl said it may have been the best carrot cake she has ever had. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie DeCarolis Kocur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
YUM! Definitely a keeper! I used applesauce in place of half the oil and whole wheat flour in place of half the white. So good and moist. I just sprayed the pan with Pam since I was serving it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this with my daughter and it was great. The only thing we did different was after greasing the pans we coated the pans with sugar. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe.....!! I'm not sure what could have gone wrong for the person it didn't work out for, but it always comes out great for me!! Instead of using just cinnamon, I use cardamom, as it adds a special sweet spiciness to it....then I cheat and make things simple by just using a commericla cream cheese frosting - which is always a hit.....a super way to make use of the leftover carrots from dinner or just using up the carrots that are left in your garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Easy to make, since the carrots are cooked. Skipped the nuts when we made it for Cammie. Would use different frosting recipe - from the pumpkin bread recipe - more cream cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Loved this cake recipe.... I made it without the raisins and the cream cheese because i dislike those two things. As icing i used butter cream frosting and it came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
The best Carrot cake ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made this cake for the first time for Thanksgiving it came out very moist and tasty but just a little heavy for me. Made it again for Christmas without the Walnuts and less pineapples and coconuts and it was excellent thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States