Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was very delicious. I will definetly be making this again. I doubled it and served it with gorditas,corn&flour tortillas,and Jalepeno tostadas. I made a couple of changes; While I browned seasoned meat (which had extra cumin and 1/2 amount of Garlic powder)I mixed the other ingredients for sauce and veggies in a large crock pot. I doubled flour and thew in minced Garlic to replace the half I cut from the powder. Added the meat and cooked on low for about 6-7 hours. Meat fell apart. Only had 2 complaints, it needed more salt and the sauce even after doubling the flour was pretty thin. If you are serving over rice it wouldent matter but if you wanted it in a burrito,taco,tostada,it is a little messy. I will probably thicken more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My hubby is a butcher so whatever cuts of meat he brings home, well, I have to make it work. I have never had Carne Guisada so this was an experiment for me. My whole family loved it! I sauted frozen pepper stir-fry mix on hand, added some left over diced tomatoes and when the meat was brown, I deglazed the good stuff stuck to the bottom with some of the water. I blended the flour with the water beforehand and added it with the meat after deglazing- put a lid on it to tenderize the meat some. Took the lid off to reduce it to a thick gravy- awesome! Everyone,including the veggie fearful teen, and chicken nugget eating toddler ate it all. Thank you for such an easy recipe! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Like other reviewers, I am also from South Texas, and really miss the Tex-Mex food from back home. After searching for a recipe, I found this one, but after making it once, I made several changes. I used 1 cup of beef broth instead of the water and 1/4 cup of flour instead of 1/8. I slow cooked the meat and gravy (stew meat) for 10 hours and it came out almost like home. The gravy was still a little thin, I will add more flour next time. Other than that, this recipe was a great template for me to get started. Make sure you serve on flour tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
If you're looking for restaurant quality tender meat, this *isn't* it. I'll keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Just like grandma used to make! I followed the recipe but, instead of water I used beef broth and ended up with a yummy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
FANTASTIC....I DID ADD A LITTLE GREEN PEPPER AND USED TOMATO PASTE....FAMILY THOUGHT IT WAS JUST LIKE THEIR GRANDMOTHER MADE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is very, very good! I cut the recipe in half since there is just 2 of us and now I wish I wouldn't have! I did add extra cumin and red pepper flakes to spice it up. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Wonderful. I serve with Goya Mexican Rice and flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gordon-Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
awful, waste of good meat, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States