Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
awesome...you have to try this GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This is a great recipe. I made it for a burrito filling and it was a big hit. I substituted chicken for the red meat and added a can of chicken broth instead of water. I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of black beans. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent! Tasted like authentic carne guisada that I've had in Mexican restaurants. Better than some, even. Used a *TON* more cumin and good deal more garlic. Had a little trouble browning the flour for the gravy, but it came out really well nonetheless. Now we make the gravy separately and it works better. Can't wait to make it again! FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
This recipe was really easy and really good. I didnt have enough beef so I combined it with cubed pork as well. My 1.5 year old loved the meat while both my husband and I loved everything. It was really good with a flavoured rice/brown rice mixture. (wild mushrrom Sidekick)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
my hubby loved this! I have a hard time making latin dishes because I can never get the flavor right. This one was not hard at all and we all enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This is a very delicious dish. I like it with the added mushrooms and stewed tomatoes, and served over rice. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoChaHo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This is almost as good as getting it at my favorite mexican restaurant! Really good. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was great! I did add more cumin & garlic powder, chili powder, a little Lawry's seasoning salt and a chopped jalepeno. I also sauted the meat in vegetable oil. The only way to eat this is in a flour tortilla w/ cheese. One last thing.... I used stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Wonderful. I added a beef boullion cube and let it simmer a little longer while the cornbread was baking (Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this site), and that is the only change I made. Served over some rice cooked with salsa and red beans. Filling, aromatic, completely satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was so good, I didn't make nearly enought the first time with just one recipe.....my family was nearly done with it by the time I made it to the table. I will make this again and again! Authentic carne guisada; as I Texas native, I can promise this tastes just like the restaurants (and Mom's). I added a can of Rotel, and instead of flour to thicken, I used 2 Tbsp cornstarch. You MUST completely dissolve the cornstarch (or flour) with warm water before adding to the recipe, or you'll end up with lumpy sauce. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States