Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
People (I think typically people who don't live in strong mexican-american neighborhoods like some of us do) seem to incorrectly judge Mexican food because they think it is supposed to be something it isn't (i.e. confusing it with southwestern faire and thinking for some reason that Mexican=spicy - that's not necessarily true). This recipe is an excellent example of classic, authentic, delicious Mexican food. Before you make it and then give it a low rating for not having enough flavor, understand that this is basically a beef stew. Just because it is authentic mexican doesn't mean it is supposed to be spicy. As long as you expect the right thing, you won't be disappointed. For those of you near-the-southern-border people looking to make your favorite taco/burrito meat at home, this recipe is great. You can make it spicy if you want to, of course - but don't give the recipe a bad rating...it's VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was really good. Took me forever to find the type of carne guisada i was looking for. I wanted the creamy gravy like kind. Not the stewed tomato kind. I live in southeast Texas and know good Mexican food. This with a few additions was very good. I made it in my crock pot. Added a few small diced tomatoes, minced garlic and some chili powder. YUMMY. With fresh torillas. My very picky fiance` loved it. Said it was "bragable" !! Oh- I also used more flour b/c i wanted a thick creamy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Carne Guisada is my favorite. In Corpus Christi I got them at the taco stands almost everyday. I never had it with all the peppers, mine was usually gravy and meat. I added alot more cumin. I also have never had it over rice or noodles. Dont think I'll be trying it that way anytime soon. But this recipe gave me the ground work to make my own now that I live in New York. I suggest putting it in flour tortillas and topping it with shredded chedder ( I thought the cheese would be gross until everyone insisted I try it, its the best way to eat it ) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good base recipe. My family is also from Corpus Christi, TX and this is not too far from some of the guisada down there. Generally good Mexican food retaurants in south Texas are judged on two simple, but hard to get right standards - enchiladas and carne guisada. Guisada is an all around food - you can usually order it in breakfast tacos or as a plate. A couple of recommendations - more garlic powder, cumin, pepper, and I added some Lawry's seasoned salt as well. Taste as you go once you add the water. Also to give it a more authentic taste, add a can of Rotel Mexican Festival tomatos and chiles. This will definitely spice it up and add a hint of lime and cilantro which is so present in most south Texas cooking. Also, eat it like we do in Texas and serve on corn or flour tortillas with guacamole and cheese for inside fixins. I think you'll be much more pleased than over rice or noodles. Tengo hambre just thinking about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Just like grandma used to make! I followed the recipe but, instead of water I used beef broth and ended up with a yummy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I thought this was quite tasty, will definitely make again. I took others' suggestions and used only one cup of water. I also added a 14oz can of stewed tomatoes and added 1/4 cup flour for thicker sauce. I sauteed the meat with minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. It came out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
My wife and I love good food, and spicy is great. This recipe needed so much tweaking it may as well have been started from scratch. First, we seasoned the meat and dredged the pieces in Bisquick. Then we browned them in the fry pan. We added beef broth instead of water, lime juice, spicy taco seasoning, red wine, roasted garlic juice and plenty of it, more onions, red pepper flakes, and also had to simmer this tough cut of beef 2 hours. THEN we mixed in some Doritos Rancheros corn chips with hot cooked elbow macaroni, stirred it together with the meat mixture, and sprinkled some extra sharp chedar cheese on top. We threw it in the broiler for 3-5 minutes till the cheese was browning, and it was very good. FAR too much 'tweaking' to give this recipe more than the minimum "One Star"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFoodLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent! Tasted like authentic carne guisada that I've had in Mexican restaurants. Better than some, even. Used a *TON* more cumin and good deal more garlic. Had a little trouble browning the flour for the gravy, but it came out really well nonetheless. Now we make the gravy separately and it works better. Can't wait to make it again! FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Johnson Coy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
as other have said, this is great traditional carne guisada . if you like it spicy, add some serrano or jalepeno peppers; next time i'll throw it all in the crock pot since simmering for 20 minutes just won't do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This is a great recipe. I made it for a burrito filling and it was a big hit. I substituted chicken for the red meat and added a can of chicken broth instead of water. I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of black beans. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States