Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This is a very delicious dish. I like it with the added mushrooms and stewed tomatoes, and served over rice. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoChaHo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Carne Guisada is my favorite. In Corpus Christi I got them at the taco stands almost everyday. I never had it with all the peppers, mine was usually gravy and meat. I added alot more cumin. I also have never had it over rice or noodles. Dont think I'll be trying it that way anytime soon. But this recipe gave me the ground work to make my own now that I live in New York. I suggest putting it in flour tortillas and topping it with shredded chedder ( I thought the cheese would be gross until everyone insisted I try it, its the best way to eat it ) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Not bad- my husband liked it- and my 3 year old loved the gravy it made- I served it over noodles but next time we agreed it would be better over rice- I didn't use exact measurements but definitely added more flour than called for- I put sauteed mushrooms in mine and I mixed in the corn that I served with it and it was a good meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was a good "starter" recipe. It wasn't fantastic, but it was something new to try that I will more than likely make again. I never usually follow the recommended measurements because when you're trying to replicate authentic cooking it's best to always use your own judgment. I cut the meat into strips and then cut it in half... placed the meat in a bowl and seasoned with a LOT of garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper. I mixed the meat by hand and added more spices to make sure the meat was nicely coated... I added about 1 cup of tomato sauce and 1 cup of water. I also added an additional small onion... after the meat had simmered for awhile I tasted the sauce and added more garlic powder, cumin, s & p as needed. Poured onto white rice - and it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
My wife and I love good food, and spicy is great. This recipe needed so much tweaking it may as well have been started from scratch. First, we seasoned the meat and dredged the pieces in Bisquick. Then we browned them in the fry pan. We added beef broth instead of water, lime juice, spicy taco seasoning, red wine, roasted garlic juice and plenty of it, more onions, red pepper flakes, and also had to simmer this tough cut of beef 2 hours. THEN we mixed in some Doritos Rancheros corn chips with hot cooked elbow macaroni, stirred it together with the meat mixture, and sprinkled some extra sharp chedar cheese on top. We threw it in the broiler for 3-5 minutes till the cheese was browning, and it was very good. FAR too much 'tweaking' to give this recipe more than the minimum "One Star"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFoodLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Excellent! Tasted like authentic carne guisada that I've had in Mexican restaurants. Better than some, even. Used a *TON* more cumin and good deal more garlic. Had a little trouble browning the flour for the gravy, but it came out really well nonetheless. Now we make the gravy separately and it works better. Can't wait to make it again! FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlybat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I thought this was quite tasty, will definitely make again. I took others' suggestions and used only one cup of water. I also added a 14oz can of stewed tomatoes and added 1/4 cup flour for thicker sauce. I sauteed the meat with minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. It came out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Good recipe- would taste better with a couple more ingredients added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
It was good but it really needs to be cooked longer, it was missing some more flavor to be 5 stars but all in all, it was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Very tasty recipe, I only used 1 cup of Water for sauce as I put it in the slow cooker for the afternoon. Boil off sauce at end to thicken up (slowly). I also added chopped tomato's and mushrooms. Eat with egg noodles for best effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States