Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
my hubby loved this! I have a hard time making latin dishes because I can never get the flavor right. This one was not hard at all and we all enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Like other reviewers suggested, I added some unlisted ingredients and it came out fine. Good base, but I will keep working on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My husaband loved it! This was the easiest Carne Guisada that I have ever made and it tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was really good. Took me forever to find the type of carne guisada i was looking for. I wanted the creamy gravy like kind. Not the stewed tomato kind. I live in southeast Texas and know good Mexican food. This with a few additions was very good. I made it in my crock pot. Added a few small diced tomatoes, minced garlic and some chili powder. YUMMY. With fresh torillas. My very picky fiance` loved it. Said it was "bragable" !! Oh- I also used more flour b/c i wanted a thick creamy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This is almost as good as getting it at my favorite mexican restaurant! Really good. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I sauted the onions with the meat and then added the flour and water. I would reduce the water next time to make a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Ok... first of all I didnt really follow all the directions but yep... this is the real stuff. I used more garlic and more cumin than called for (and since I was using stew meat, I pressure-cooked it). Good stuff... will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good base recipe. My family is also from Corpus Christi, TX and this is not too far from some of the guisada down there. Generally good Mexican food retaurants in south Texas are judged on two simple, but hard to get right standards - enchiladas and carne guisada. Guisada is an all around food - you can usually order it in breakfast tacos or as a plate. A couple of recommendations - more garlic powder, cumin, pepper, and I added some Lawry's seasoned salt as well. Taste as you go once you add the water. Also to give it a more authentic taste, add a can of Rotel Mexican Festival tomatos and chiles. This will definitely spice it up and add a hint of lime and cilantro which is so present in most south Texas cooking. Also, eat it like we do in Texas and serve on corn or flour tortillas with guacamole and cheese for inside fixins. I think you'll be much more pleased than over rice or noodles. Tengo hambre just thinking about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was good. I made it to serve in burritos. As other users suggested I cut the water in half. I found that the flour clumped quite a bit though. Next time I will use cornstarch instead and I will remove the beef while I mix in the cornstarch and water and then put it back in to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
after adding a lot of extra things it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States