Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. Even though the dish wasn't spicy, it had flavor and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was very delicious. I will definetly be making this again. I doubled it and served it with gorditas,corn&flour tortillas,and Jalepeno tostadas. I made a couple of changes; While I browned seasoned meat (which had extra cumin and 1/2 amount of Garlic powder)I mixed the other ingredients for sauce and veggies in a large crock pot. I doubled flour and thew in minced Garlic to replace the half I cut from the powder. Added the meat and cooked on low for about 6-7 hours. Meat fell apart. Only had 2 complaints, it needed more salt and the sauce even after doubling the flour was pretty thin. If you are serving over rice it wouldent matter but if you wanted it in a burrito,taco,tostada,it is a little messy. I will probably thicken more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My hubby is a butcher so whatever cuts of meat he brings home, well, I have to make it work. I have never had Carne Guisada so this was an experiment for me. My whole family loved it! I sauted frozen pepper stir-fry mix on hand, added some left over diced tomatoes and when the meat was brown, I deglazed the good stuff stuck to the bottom with some of the water. I blended the flour with the water beforehand and added it with the meat after deglazing- put a lid on it to tenderize the meat some. Took the lid off to reduce it to a thick gravy- awesome! Everyone,including the veggie fearful teen, and chicken nugget eating toddler ate it all. Thank you for such an easy recipe! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Like other reviewers, I am also from South Texas, and really miss the Tex-Mex food from back home. After searching for a recipe, I found this one, but after making it once, I made several changes. I used 1 cup of beef broth instead of the water and 1/4 cup of flour instead of 1/8. I slow cooked the meat and gravy (stew meat) for 10 hours and it came out almost like home. The gravy was still a little thin, I will add more flour next time. Other than that, this recipe was a great template for me to get started. Make sure you serve on flour tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
If you're looking for restaurant quality tender meat, this *isn't* it. I'll keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Just like grandma used to make! I followed the recipe but, instead of water I used beef broth and ended up with a yummy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
FANTASTIC....I DID ADD A LITTLE GREEN PEPPER AND USED TOMATO PASTE....FAMILY THOUGHT IT WAS JUST LIKE THEIR GRANDMOTHER MADE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is very, very good! I cut the recipe in half since there is just 2 of us and now I wish I wouldn't have! I did add extra cumin and red pepper flakes to spice it up. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Wonderful. I serve with Goya Mexican Rice and flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States