Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Awesome AUTHENTIC recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and my husband loved it. Thanks for sharing! Reviewed by a MEXICAN LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texas City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
tweaked it abit but over all, this is a great one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Brenda, my family loved this carne guisada! My husband could't believe it could be made in 30 min. I also made again with 3 lbs of stew meat and 2 lbs of pork. There was nothing left! Thank you for a simple and deliciouse plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used 1c of beef broth instead of water, added 1/4c extra of flour & added 1 can of tomato sauce. I've been trying to make my own carne guisada for years now but could never get it right due to 1 little error (not browning the flour first) Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was much more soupy than I had anticipated, and the flavors don't permeate the meat very well. Next time I'll try this in the slow-cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Utah, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I found and have made this over and over again. I usually make rice and open a can of refried beans with chorizo mix everything together.Family and friends almost always want more than just one bowl.Thank you for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Wasnt spicy at all so even the kids enjoyed it, although i did sprinkle a little jalapeno salt over the top of it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree with another that this is a great starter recipe to tweak as you see fit. I did add 1/4 cup more of flour and only had 1.5 lbs of meat. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Good flavor. My husband liked it, even though I knew it wouldn't taste like his mother's carne guisada. Make sure to brown the flour long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this last night and actually this is how I make my beef stew, just different seasoning. I added 1 can diced tomatoes, very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittykitty61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. Even though the dish wasn't spicy, it had flavor and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States