Mom's Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Awesome AUTHENTIC recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and my husband loved it. Thanks for sharing! Reviewed by a MEXICAN LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texas City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
tweaked it abit but over all, this is a great one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Brenda, my family loved this carne guisada! My husband could't believe it could be made in 30 min. I also made again with 3 lbs of stew meat and 2 lbs of pork. There was nothing left! Thank you for a simple and deliciouse plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used 1c of beef broth instead of water, added 1/4c extra of flour & added 1 can of tomato sauce. I've been trying to make my own carne guisada for years now but could never get it right due to 1 little error (not browning the flour first) Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was much more soupy than I had anticipated, and the flavors don't permeate the meat very well. Next time I'll try this in the slow-cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Utah, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I found and have made this over and over again. I usually make rice and open a can of refried beans with chorizo mix everything together.Family and friends almost always want more than just one bowl.Thank you for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Wasnt spicy at all so even the kids enjoyed it, although i did sprinkle a little jalapeno salt over the top of it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I agree with another that this is a great starter recipe to tweak as you see fit. I did add 1/4 cup more of flour and only had 1.5 lbs of meat. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Good flavor. My husband liked it, even though I knew it wouldn't taste like his mother's carne guisada. Make sure to brown the flour long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this last night and actually this is how I make my beef stew, just different seasoning. I added 1 can diced tomatoes, very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittykitty61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. Even though the dish wasn't spicy, it had flavor and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Carne Asada Grinder

Make the traditional Mexican beef dish into a super-satisfying sandwich.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States