Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
They were ok but the baking soda was really easy to taste but I really loved the butter in it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Usually I can depend on Allrecipes reviews. These pancakes were WAY too salty. I should have known better from simply reading the recipe. At first I thought I read it wrong, but no. Terrible taste. My son wouldn't even eat them and I don't blame him! Cut the salt down by half at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
These are good pancakes. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NadineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Tried this receipe and my wife and kids love it. Easy to make, light, fluffy and every bit as good as we have had in the US when on our holidays. These are now cooked every week in our UK home for Sunday Brunch and remind us of great times. Thanks and thoroughly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
The texture was great, but the amount of salt was too much for my family's taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Its TOO SALTY!!! I cook on a regular basis. While preparing the batter I thought 1 teaspoon was a lot of salt. Unfortunately I didn't listen to myself. I wasn't sure since it was the first time I was making it. -I made waffles last week and it only called for an 1/8th of a teaspoon! Even the crepes I make on a regular basis only call for a pinch of salt! Unfortunately, I was just trying to use up my buttermilk and I didn't go through and read the reviews first. I wish I had. I agree with the one reviewer that said the pancakes tasted like brine. I would definately cut back on the salt!! Or omit it all together. Severely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Perfect! There are no issues with the salt content. I doubled the recipe as I was serving 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Family loved them with syrup! I though they were too salty so cut the salt to 1/4tsp, and baking soda to 1/2tsp. Second batch turned out much better. I eat them plain so the flavors stand out more. Once you add sweet syrup it cuts the salty taste down significantly. Will be making these again, but with the reduced salt. Both versions were light, fluffy, tender and very easy to make. Love buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These pancakes were so salty we could not eat them, and I'm an excessive salter. I wish I would have read the reviews first because another person said the same thing. That person was right, 1/4 tsp of salt per cup of flour is enough. I will make this same recipe again with much less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
My son and I loved these pancakes. I added a pinch of baking powder and next time, I would use much less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States