Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I doubled the recipe, but reduced the amount of salt to 1/2 tsp as the thought of putting 2 whole teaspoons was a bit mind boggling. The Good: These panackes cook up fluffy and have good texture. The initial flavor was good. The Bad: The aftertaste of baking soda in my mouth after every bite. Ick! Maybe that is why there is so much salt... to cover the bad aftertaste. I will tinker with the salt and baking soda ratios and hopefully come up with a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
They we good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These pancakes are both perfect and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We doubled this recipe only complaint is 2 tsp is way to much salt. Will try again but keep salt to 1tsp when doubling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This recipe sucks, the pancakes were WAY TOOOOOOOO SALTY. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I read reviews before I make anything, but this time I didn't, I just made these real fast one morning for the kids because I had some leftover buttermilk. These were seriously delicious. I eat low-carb, but they just looked so good I had to try one, it took all the will-power I had to not eat more. I cooked them on the skillet with my bacon, so they were very slightly crisp, and they were probably the best pancakes I have ever eaten. They were very fluffy, I didn't change a thing, thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I have to agree with "sunfluer" that there is WAY too much salt in this recipe. It tasted like I was eating very salty pretzels. I figured the salt amount was a typo. I reduced to 1/4 teaspoon salt and all was perfect again. Oh and I LOVE salt. so with that little adjustment, this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made as written (almost). I cut salt to 1/4 tsp, added 1 T sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla - just personal preference. Added fresh blueberries before flipping. They were really great. No more box mixes for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I love salt, but oh man is this pancake recipe SALTY. I had to double the rest of the ingredients just to balance it out! The pancakes were delicious after that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
A little on the salty side, next time I'll cut back on the salt. Also I added 1 tsp vanilla extract. Everyone in the family, except the pickiest kid, gobbled these down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States