Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used all organic ingredients, and fresh laid eggs. These were the BEST pancakes ever. My husband does not usually like pancakes, but he ate these and said don't loose that recipe! I doubled the recipe, except for the salt. Perfectly fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
These came out soooo beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this recipe as written but tripled the recipe due to the fact that I have a big eatin family! Due to the reviews, I did NOT triple the salt but used the original amount and I have to say, that was MORE than enough salt! I consider myself an expert when it comes to cooking but I have to say these pancakes did not taste very good at all. I split the batter in 3 separate bowls (one plain), one added fresh blueberries, and one with sliced bananas and the blueberry and banana mixture tasted much better but not perfect. I also added a bit of pure vanilla and a bit of sugar in the blueberry mixture and those tasted even better but the texture was just not there. I'm not sure if it's something I am doing wrong or my old vintage "griddle in the middle" 1955. I make French toast, pancakes, and anything else that is made on a griddle and it all comes out fine. The center of my pancakes were doughy and heavy with a strange taste. I tried to adjust the heat several different times but they just didn't come out perfect. Some were cooking too fast on the outside or taking forever to cook when heat was lowered. Can someone out there please tell me what I was doing wrong? I just cannot figure out what went wrong with these pancakes!! My non picky eaters (but know excellent food) were not impressed with these pancakes at all. I hate giving low ratings but these just weren't good. Maybe I just need some advice as to what I am doing wrong. Not making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My husband made these for breakfast this morning, and they were amazing! Easy to make, and delicious! I can't believe I ever ate the boxed kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I scaled this down or serve 4 and added some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I like the texture of the pancakes. They cooked up nicely. They were indeed fluffy. But... I found them to be very salty. I will try these again, but next time use half the amount of salt. The tsp of salt combined with the tsp of baking soda was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Too salty. I wanted it to be great but it was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Best pancakes ever. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yuuummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
In a word.... "outstanding"! Didn't change anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States