Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this recipie exactly as written and made the first pancake. My family wasn't bowled over, so I added two tablespoons of granulated sugar and that was the ticket. I guess my crew just needs a little sweetness to it. Delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I had some buttermilk in the refrigerator and thought I'd try this recipe to use it up. Glad I did because they were absolutely delicious! One of the easiest recipes ever and they were as light as air and super tasty. I added just a tiny bit of vanilla with the liquid ingredients and used slightly less salt as I was using unsalted, melted butter. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It was great! No problems whatsoever. Perfect sweetness with just a hint of salt. Perfect serving amount for 3 adults, 2 pancakes a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was the first recipe I used to make homemade buttermilk pancakes with, and I was afraid to try other recipes because this one is so DELICIOUS! I finally tried another recipe (because I needed less than this) and it was awful. I will never use another recipe besides this one again! I make it exactly as it is written, and they are the most delicious pancakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! My children told me that these pancakes taste like the ones from their favorite local restaurant! Definitely, double the recipe if you are making these for more than 3 people. This will be replacing my old go-to pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These are UNBELIEVABLE!!! I've made them 4 times, already and my hubby and kids LOVE them. I made the recipe as written (I thought) the first time, but it turns out I had too much flour. Even so, I added more and more buttermilk until they were JUST pourable. They turned out fabulous! The 2nd time I made them was weird. I'm not sure what happened-I made them exactly as written and though the flavor was good, the texture was not. It was bumpy and squishy in places. The pancakes themselves came out flat and flabby. I'm not sure exactly what went wrong, but I suspect the buttermilk I used wasn't good. I'm pretty sure it had nothing to do with the recipe, because the 3rd and 4th time I made these were a hit. They turned out PERFECTLY. The 4th time I made them, I added about 1/2 TBS of cinnamon and 3 capfuls of vanilla, by the way. STUPID DELICIOUS. :) The recipe does a great job of describing the way the batter (almost dough) should look, and that is REALLY helpful (especially for those of us used to making instant just-add-water pancakes). I will never, EVER make instant pancakes again!! Thank you SOOOOO much for freeing me and my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Way too salty. It tasted like playdough. When I make these again will cut salt in half, add 3tbs of sugar and less buttermilk. I'm willing to give this one another try since its so easy. Liked bisquick much better so we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I never make pancakes because they turn out too thick and rubbery to be eaten. I tried this recipe because the picture looked most like the pancakes I like, not too thick yet fluffy. The results were amazing. Finally after 62 years I've made a good pancake. The batter was quite thick so I added more buttermilk (1 1/4 cups total) and maybe 3 tablespoons of water to thin the batter. The results were amazing. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Every homemade pancake I've attempted has always tasted like it was missing something. Flavor, probably. I almost never have buttermilk on hand, but I'd bought some for a chicken recipe that required marinating chicken breasts in buttermilk. This recipe is awesome. I mostly followed it, but I only had unsalted butter and I didn't really measure the buttermilk. I should have though, because I added too much and the mix was too thin. I just added a little more flour and an extra pinch of b. soda and it worked beautifully. Fluffy, flavorful, and no preservatives. This recipe has changed the way I'll shop, as I'll try to always have buttermilk on hand from now on. Thank you cinnken and cinnken's grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
not the greatest. very bland flavor compared to any other buttermilk pancake recipe i have used. WAY TOO SALTY~ my husband would not even eat one whole pancake. would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States