Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I read the reviews and I have to say when I did this recipe my pancakes came out perfecto! It was my first time making pancakes from scratch. I didn't change the original recipe at all! But what I did, I made the batter up at 2am and put it in the frig until not long ago (at about 11:45am). I split up the batter and made some plain and some banana walnut pancakes. I added 1/2 banana mashed, about 9 whole walnut pieces chopped up fine, and a 1/2 teaspoon of Ceylon cinnamon. It was really good! I used all the batter and made everything now so tomorrow I can just heat and eat. I made great BIG plate size pancakes just like IHOP. I'm sitting here stuffed now and don't want to move! But I know the dishes have to be done unfortunately. I wish my fairy godmother would do them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I am BEYOND thrilled to have found this recipe! The one restaurant near us that made THE BEST pancakes ever, closed without my ever learning their secret! I have made endless varieties of pancake recipes and could never come close to that taste or consistency! THIS recipe did it! I only made one modification and that is to add about a half teaspoon of vanilla!! Pair these with REAL maple syrup and I DID it! A perfect copycat version!!! Thank you! Thank your mother!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
The buttermilk makes the pancake! I tried it with regular milk, and it wasn't nearly as good. Love it though! Bisquick is over rated! Homemade is just as easy with this recipe. Light, fluffy perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
easy peasy....made as directed and added 1tsp vanilla and 1tsp sugar.....delicious!! I will never buy a mix again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The amount of salt is too high. Cut the salt by half, or more. For a little better taste, I add a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie Elfering
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
These are delicious! They are also very fast and simple to put together. I make them exactly like the recipe says. I have added fresh fruit like blackberry's and blueberries before and it's delicious too. Do yourself a favor and try these! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Elfering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Blah... these were terrible. Do yourself a favor and find a recipe with baking powder, and some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Incorvaia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ive tried this recipe exactly how it instructs several times but for some reason i get a melted butter taste you know that strong smell when just melted? Its kind of strong so ive added a couple splashes of vanilla extract hoping to get that taste yet the melted butter taste over powers it. I like that they are fluffy but ill continue trying different portions of the ingredients to perfect it to my liking. Overall its an ok recipe how i make it of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Best pancakes I have ever made!!! And I cook and bake all the time! I did use half the salt because a full teaspoon I think is too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States