Mom's Buttermilk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Pretty good. I had some buttermilk to use up... the cookie is cake-like, without much flavor by itself, but good texture. Since it's cakelike, it starts to get soggy if you leave it in an airtight container; best to store it uncovered. The frosting was too sweet for me, next time I'll use less powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made the basic recipe and it was good but needed a bit more flavor. Instead of the nuts I toasted some sweetened flaked coconut and dipped the newly iced cookies in that. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
While I actually prefer simple drop cookies when baking ('cuz I'm lazy like that), I have to say I am more than willing to go the extra step with these cookies. They are absolutely delicious. The only change I made was to use buttermilk instead of regular milk in the frosting. I also sprinkled Christmas jimmies on top. These were the first cookies gone from the multitude that I made this season. Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are the best cookies I have ever made. They are amazingly soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Absolutely NO flavor :/ Fluffy though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These cookies were easy to make and they tast very good. Big hit with everyone. Deffantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
this was good kids and grandkids liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
yummy! Very easy and quick. I am making them with green frosting for St. Patrick's Day for my son's class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Got snowed in today & decided to use up my buttermilk. The whole family loved them! Very easy to make & tastes great! I used cinnamon sugar instead of icing & everyone said they taste better than the store bought ones I had paid over 3.00 for 6 big cookies. I wont be doing that again. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I bake cookies each Sunday for the church and these are the favorite of all cookies I bake. Many ask for the recipe. these are definately a favorite of the family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States