Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2000
I loved this frosting when I was a kid. The problem was nobody in my family remembered how to make it. I can now recreate all the yummy cakes and cupcakes that I had enjoyed as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was a very easy and tasty recipe for buttercream frosting. I added coconut flavor and sprinkled coconut on my cake. The frosting tasted just like the boughten cakes in the freezer dept. of the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This recipe is excellent and easy! My hubby tried it and said its just like the frosting his mom used to make. It's very light and not sweet. The fun part is you can use different flavorings to use with different cakes. If you want more flavor just add a little more vanilla or another extract such as almond or rum etc. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I really enjoyed making this frosting because I was able to use regular sugar which every household tends to have and it was fast, light and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
very tasty, and rather easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
excellent recipe. takes minimal effort but results are well worth it. it's not a heavy frosting and tastes so much better than supermarket frostings. I use it for all my cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is wonderful! So much better than frosting made with confectioner's sugar. It tastes like a light, sweetened whipped cream frosting. I made this with all butter and no shortening and I really like the results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I lost this recipe many years ago and am very happy to find it again. It's really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I have looked for this recipe for the last year it's just like my mom made!!! Work well for making flowers and decorating cakes. It is the best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States