Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I rea enjoyed the taste, but it came out really thin, so I had to add flour to thicken it up...I might have messed up somewhere, but I am pretty sure that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Easy to spred, even when straight from the fridge. Good flavor and not greasy. Great on chocolate cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Hmmm. Did not like the consistancy and taste, so did not use the final product. I think I prefer buttercream recipes without flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Excellent icing!! Some suggestions-mix small amount of milk with the flour until smooth, then add rest of milk, also, beat cooled flour mixture with mixer before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Thank you! The best old fashioned buttercream frosting I have had. I did however use 10x confectioners sugar (1 1/2 cups) in place of granulated, and I used all butter. I will not be trying another recipe from here on out, it's that good when done correctly. Thanks Again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzylolipop
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I was intrigued by this icing since it dated back to the 40s - I just love retro recipes! I also used only butter in the recipe and had wonderful results. I only cooled the flour mixture for about 30 mintues and it worked perfectly. I also added a few drops of red food coloring to make a pink icing since I was using this over a rich strawberry cake. Beautiful results (see picture)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzylolipop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Just made this for a friends 40th B'day cake and it was awesome! Wasn't sure at first how this would turn out but turned out light and fluffy. Made some extra and it has firmed up great for decorating cakes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was a wonderful recipe. After I cooled the milk and flour mixture I beat it with the mixer until it was creamy and then added the rest of the ingredients. The frosting came out light and creamy like whipped cream, but better. I made a second batch and added melted semi sweet chocolate and a ½ cup more of powder sugar . It was perfect every one raved over the frosting on both of my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This icing was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esker71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is a great frosting recipe!! I was looking for something light and fluffy to top some cupcakes. This was wonderful. I am going to try it next time I have to decorate a cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States