Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
*Mine came out VERY lumpy--nasty, but I fixed it by pushing it through a fine wire sieve *--Next time I'll blend the flour & milk before cooking it. *Also, I put the granulated sugar in a dry blender to make it powdery. Store-bought confectioners sugar has cornstarch added and thus doesn't taste as nice. *I only used butter--if I wanted that hydrogenated junk, I would've bought the pre-made stuff from the store. *In conclusion, I thought this was too greasy tasting and rich, but then again I've never liked frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
The taste was good but the icing was too soft. I used it on a 2 layer cake and the cake fell apart because the icing was so soft. I would only use this again on a 13 X 9 cake left in the pan not on a layer cake. It was embarassing,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Fabulous! Soft, creamy, and not sugar-coma-inducing. I'm not all that experienced at making frosting, but this came together very easily. I substituted another half-cup of butter for the vegetable shortening and used confectioners' sugar rather than granulated. I ended up adding maybe a quarter-cup more sugar (if that) in small increments until the frosting tasted "just right" to me. Excellent, will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
As is, its not very good. I beat the sugar with the butter/shortening for 20 plus minutes and it was GRITTY. I decided to add the flour/milk mixture while still warm, hoping it would help with the sugar. It did a bit, but still was a little gritty. I tasted it and it was pretty bland, so I added some almond extract and a few shakes of salt. Like others said, its more like whipped topping than the frosting I'm used to. I also had to add some powdered sugar to sweeten it up and thicken a bit. Edible, but I would not go through the trouble to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This recipe is FANTASTIC. Lumpy 1st time because I didn't heat the mixture correctly. The 2nd time I started w/flour on low/med heat slowly added milk. Once mixed together with no lumps I increased the heat to get the thicker mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this frosting is delicious!definitely use this one each time i bake a cake.but make sure you stir the milk-flour mixture while you heated to make sure there are no lumps and beat it for a while before you add into the butter-sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
MMMMMM...Now that's what I call frosting. I only gave it four stars because I like frosting to be a bit thicker than this; but this recipe is perfect for the type it is. MOVE OVER WHIPPED CREAM CAUSE HERE COMES THE BUTTERCREAM. WooooHoooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The best way to ensure you will not have lumps is to start with the flour in a sauce pan over medium heat and very slowly pour in the milk, whisking the entire time. Also, so as not to get that gritty taste, I added the sugar to the flour mixture just before taking it off the heat. I then let the entire mixture cool in the fridge before whipping it into the butter. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I DID EXALCTLY THE WAY IT SAYS ,AND CAMEOUT VERY WELL,,,SOFT LIKE WHIP CREAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I just used this frost a great cake, and though my husband liked it, I found it to be indeed a bit waxy and flavorless, even with extra vanilla. Perhaps it is better with chocolate... either way, it didn't taste like the buttercream frosting I have enjoyed in restaurants. In terms of modification, I used 1/4 cup shortening and 3/4 cup unsalted butter. I recommend being very patient with the flour-milk paste, which easily clumps if heated too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States