Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
OMG im a rather young baker and my mom, friends and everyone loves this iceing!! at first i thought...flour in a frosting? but you absolutley have to try this!!I might have used all butter...soooo yummy. added a couple drops of food colouring to make it look pretty! I used it ontop of a chocolate cupcake and the iceing made it amazing! definelty using this for ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My mom made this for all of our cakes when I was growing up. Our friends loved it so much they would all ask her to make their birthday cakes! Since my recipes are in storage right now thought I'd try this one, but I already found a problem. This one says 1/4 cup flour when my mom always used 5 tablespoons which is closer to 1/2 cup-that much I do remember :D The flour/milk mixture should be cooked very slowly, being stirred constantly with a rubber spatula making sure to keep scraping the bottom so it doesn't stick. It should thicken until you can form it in a loose pile in the middle, sort of a loose ball, then cooled completely before mixing the other ingredients with it. I will try to update this if the rest comes out well :D Also the cake should be stored in the refrigerator after its frosted as the frosting tastes best cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I love this frosting, I make it often to go on top of Crazy Cake. I would suggest to use 3/4 cup butter and 1/2 shortening to tame the flavor of the shortening. But all in all a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So So. Doesn't make much frosting. And it was very loose. I added cream cheese to bump up the flavor and quantity and to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Absolutely PERFECT.....Just what I was looking for! I took other reviewers advice and made a paste with the flour and a small amount of milk first..didn't have any problems with lumps after cooking. Beat the butter & sugar for about 8 minutes, then added the flour mixture and beat that for about another 8 minutes.....came out just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have made this frosting before and it was the best frosting I have ever had. My recipe was slightly different, instead of shortening, I used one cup butter, and one cup sugar. Tonight I tried making it again, and it curdled. I'm not quite sure why. I softened my butter to room temp, and beat the sugar and butter for almost 20 min, and it was still slightly grainy. I used skim milk. Could that be it? Or did I beat it too long? Any input would be great. I absolutely love this recipe! Thanks. Oh, and I completely cooled the flour and milk so I don't think temperature was the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I followed other reviewers and added the sugar to the warm paste. I also used 1 cup sugar because I like a sweet frosting. I used 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening. I whipped the shortening and butter while the paste cooled in the freezer (stir every 5 minutes to prevent skin). I slowly drizzled the paste (at this point I was dubious) into the shortening butter and to my astonishment a fantastic, fluffy frosting formed! I added one tsp of vanilla and one of rum. I used it on Black Magic Cake from this site (split into 4 layers). Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Awesome with cocoa powder. I didn't measure, just put eye-balled it. When making the flour/milk mixture, I took others' advice and put the flour in first then slowly stirred in milk. For me, it was still really lumpy; but after cooling it, I beat it for about 5 minutes and that smoothed it out. Next time, I will put the milk in first then slowly whisk in sifted flour. No gritty texture since I beat the butter and sugar for over 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Loved it. No changes made. It's my new go to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe! I did modify it a little, after you make the flour and milk paste, I added about a quarter of it still warm to the creamed butter and sugar, this disolved the sugar and gave it a very smooth texture. I also reduced the milk and added strawberry jelly for flavor. I also add 3/4c butter and 1/4c shortening. I will be using this recipe again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States