Mom's Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was my first time making frosting and this recipe was completely wonderful light and fluffy not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I will be making this for my boyfriend this weekend. He doesn't care for cake so he asked for icing and asked for the buttercream icing that is put on cakes at Kroger and Walmart. Not wanting to just get him their icing I decided to make him some. This recipe sounds most like the one my aunt used to make (she has passed away and no one but my sister had her recipe and she has passed away as well). I hope it turns out as yummy as I remember her icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I rated this recipe 4 stars before actually using it with a cake. I know, I know. My husband just loved this frosting on a Devil's Food Cake. And I agree, so now it gets 5 stars! Original review: This is a really really good frosting. It is a bit of work, but worth it. However, this reminds of a filling more than a frosting; maybe I am used to heavier frosting. It is soooooo smooth and airy though and has a good mouth feel to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Not all that thrilled with this recipe. I think I definitely have to make some alterations because it tasted a lot like shortening to me. I think it has potential but not as written. Next time I make this I will implement some of the ideas in the views but I was in a pinch and just made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I was looking for a creamy, yet fluffy frosting for cupcakes and I thought this one would be perfect. The description said it was an old recipe from the 40's, so I thought--wow, a classic. I suppose this was developed for wartime (WWII) cooks to conserve on butter? The consistency was great, but the texture was oily and waxy. I used a name-brand, high quality shortening from a new can, so it was fresh, and I used the real butter as directed. I am disappointed. If you decide to go ahead and make this, add a dash of salt. This is definitely NOT a keeper for me, however, many people seem to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
a little softer than what I expected. Very nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this to put on a chocolate cake. It is wicked good. I normally like the sweet stuff, but wanted something different tonight. I have made something similar before to put in whoopie pies and had trouble getting the sugar to disolve in the mixture, so I took another reviewers advice and put it in the flour mixture when it was still hot, then refridgerated. Worked great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Oh my goodness! This frosting is AWESOME! I love sugar and usually, the sweeter the better, but this frosting, in spite of not tasting sweet, is my new favorite. So fluffy and light, with a tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond extract, was amazing. I used half butter and half shortening and beat the heck out of it before and after I added the flour mixture. Probably a total of 12 minutes with my stand mixer. I put it on homemade funfetti cake and then another time on homemade red velvet cake. TERRIFIC on both cakes. mmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dorkzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Loved this recipe! Not too sweet, but just enough. Texture was light and wonderful. I didn't use shortening and did all butter instead. I blended in a spoonful of blueberry jam to give it a hint of something else and omit the vanilla extract. I made the mistake of putting the frosting in the fridge and had a hard time with it the next morning so had to wait for it to reach room temperature and whip it up again in the food mixer until I could put it on cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Fantastic! Love this frosting. Not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States