Mom's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Wow, I never would have thought that brussel sprouts could actally taste this great! This recipe is so easy and tasty. I used fresh brussel sprouts, roughly two handfuls and then pretty much followed the rest of the recipe, but eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. I don't have a microwave, so I simply let the sprouts remain the strainer and put the butter (margarine, actually), nuts and spices in the same pot I cooked the sprouts and let it all melt and warm up. I put the sprouts in a glass dish and poured the sauce over top. This is worth trying and I'll make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I'm not a huge brussels sprouts fan but these were quite tasty. I liked the contrasts between the brown sugar and the sprouts. I'm considering this dish for Thanksgiving dinner. My husband really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Terrific recipe. Everyone at our church Christmas banquet wanted the recipe. It is an easy and great tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Great recipie for brussel sprouts. Gives them a little more flavor but turned out a little sweet the first time can cut down on the ammount of brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I fixed these the other night and they are 5 Star Delicious. The best way I've found to dress-up these little green gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I had to do a variation of the recipe. I used a small spoon of molasses and 2 tbsp. of white sugar instead of brown sugar because I didn't have any and replaced the walnuts with pecans. I also made the sauce on the stovetop and it was still very easy. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Way too Bizarre! I made this last night and my kids asked for seconds. I have always liked brussels sprouts, but when I found this recipe for adding brown sugar, I thought it might give me a shot at getting my kids to eat them...So happy I found this recipe! Very easy, and yummy. We all really loved the walnuts too....we were fighting for them at the end of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
My boyfriend made these and they were fabulous. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These were DELICIOUS. Even without the walnuts. My husband LOVED them, and my five year old daughter (who would never touch them before) asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobeads

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Level, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Mmmm! Sweet yummy coating. Although next time I would cut the sprouts in half before coating in order to get the yummy goodness flavor throughout. We'll see how my kids like them this way in a minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States