Mom's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Wow, I never would have thought that brussel sprouts could actally taste this great! This recipe is so easy and tasty. I used fresh brussel sprouts, roughly two handfuls and then pretty much followed the rest of the recipe, but eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. I don't have a microwave, so I simply let the sprouts remain the strainer and put the butter (margarine, actually), nuts and spices in the same pot I cooked the sprouts and let it all melt and warm up. I put the sprouts in a glass dish and poured the sauce over top. This is worth trying and I'll make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I'm not a huge brussels sprouts fan but these were quite tasty. I liked the contrasts between the brown sugar and the sprouts. I'm considering this dish for Thanksgiving dinner. My husband really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Terrific recipe. Everyone at our church Christmas banquet wanted the recipe. It is an easy and great tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Pretty good... for brussel sprouts. I am a person who likes eating most foods. I am not picky at all, however, I have yet to eat a brussel sprout I truly love. I tried this reipe in an effort to like brussel sprouts and to introduce them to my children. I thought each bite was better if it included a walnut. I liked the sweet buttery sauce (I also added some cnnamon,) but still didn't like the sprouts. None of my three children liked them. I probably wouldn't make this recipe again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Great recipie for brussel sprouts. Gives them a little more flavor but turned out a little sweet the first time can cut down on the ammount of brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Pretty yummy! I didn't add the walnuts, because I hate nuts, but the butter/brown sugar combo was nice. My only complaint was that when I melted the 2 together in the microwave, all the butter settled to the top, and the sugar to the bottom. It didn't combine very well, and the sauce was a bit 'grainy' then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
O.K. recipe but something just didn't come together. Won't be making again. My husband semi-liked them but liked a recipe I made a few weeks ago better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I fixed these the other night and they are 5 Star Delicious. The best way I've found to dress-up these little green gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I'll put it this way - I could actually eat the sprouts without gagging which doesn't happen often. I rather enjoyed them but would add additional brown sugar next time. Husband and son really didn't care for them at all, but they were better than plain sprouts with butter and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Pretty good and tasty, but a bit too sugary. Believe it or not, a little bit of water helps the sauce come together if the sugar and butter don't come together. It tasted a lot better the second day. 5-stars for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States