Mom's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Perhaps it was my lack of observance while microwaving, but my walnuts clumped a bit. I increased the salt a bit to play up the sweet/salty factor too. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was good. I cut them in half so they would soak up more of the sauce. I think it may be the allspice that turned me off a bit...maybe? There was a bit of an after taste I didn't like. I would make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Mmmm! Sweet yummy coating. Although next time I would cut the sprouts in half before coating in order to get the yummy goodness flavor throughout. We'll see how my kids like them this way in a minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Pretty good.. although you could coat just about anything with brown sugar and butter and it would taste wonderful. This is about the 3rd time in my life to eat Brussels Sprouts. I kind of like them, but my husband thinks they are the worst vegetable known to man. The sauce was great. Really liked the Allspice/Nutmeg/Salt Addition. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These were DELICIOUS. Even without the walnuts. My husband LOVED them, and my five year old daughter (who would never touch them before) asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobeads

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Level, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
My boyfriend made these and they were fabulous. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Way too Bizarre! I made this last night and my kids asked for seconds. I have always liked brussels sprouts, but when I found this recipe for adding brown sugar, I thought it might give me a shot at getting my kids to eat them...So happy I found this recipe! Very easy, and yummy. We all really loved the walnuts too....we were fighting for them at the end of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I had to do a variation of the recipe. I used a small spoon of molasses and 2 tbsp. of white sugar instead of brown sugar because I didn't have any and replaced the walnuts with pecans. I also made the sauce on the stovetop and it was still very easy. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Elisa Sue
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Still not a fan of brussel sprouts, but this brought me one inch closer than any other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Pretty good and tasty, but a bit too sugary. Believe it or not, a little bit of water helps the sauce come together if the sugar and butter don't come together. It tasted a lot better the second day. 5-stars for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States